We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL IS NOT WELL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westport Serviced Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“ALL IS NOT WELL!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights in early July on a promotional reservation. Despite the glowing journalese regarding the property we encountered several failings which were brought to the attention of reception staff at the time. Additionally, email communication detailing these failings was established with the CEO of Connoisseurs Scotland who list this property within their group. In turn the CEO has at least twice contacted the owner/director and management, even copying my emails, yet to date, some three weeks since our visit neither the owner/director nor management have shown the courtesy to communicate with me.

Our paperwork indicated that we would be treated to a bottle of wine in the apartment on arrival. It was missing. Additionally, the complimentary continental breakfast pack was missing. Both of these items were made available AFTER I had spoken to reception staff.

On the second day of our visit we returned at 1620 to discover that the apartment had not been serviced at all. Yet the information pack within the apartment stated that servicing would occur between 1100 and 1500. When reception was contacted I was given the somewhat lame excuse that they had been busy. We then went shopping and returned just after 1700 to a serviced apartment BUT later that evening discovered that although staff had replaced towels they had not provided a bath/shower mat. Once again I had to contact reception to obtain the missing item. Not that we required them as we had our own but we never did discover the quoted slippers.

Although all three members of reception staff encountered were most pleasant and helpful there is a somewhat lax management regime to oversee that staff are performing their specific functions as they should. This perception is reinforced by the apparent lack of courtesy by the owner/director and management to respond to my comments made to the CEO of Connoisseurs Scotland who has been most helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank met82eor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestportDundee, General Manager at Westport Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for submitting your review and whilst all comments are taken on board I wish to point out that the Director/ Owner has sent two reply e-mails directly to you (only contact details we have). I also wish to point out that Connoisseurs Scotland do not manage or operate Westport Serviced Apartments, and we do advertise our phone number and e-mail contact information on our website, social media sites and printed materials, and direct contact should have been made in order to address the above issues.

It is an ambition of Westport to provide every customer with an enjoyable and memorable experience and we welcome feedback as it helps us to continue and improve our high levels of service and care. The wine as mentioned was not in the apartment as we were waiting to ascertain which type you would like, as for the welcome pack, this was a simple oversight and was rectified immediately upon notification.

With regards to your other points, if you would like to contact either myself via e-mail: fraser@westportservicedapartments.com or the Director, sarah@westportservicedapartments.com or by calling 01382 313666 we are more than happy to discuss.

Kind regards,

Fraser Kirk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    21
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
44
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The staff at Westport are very welcoming and friendly and when we arrived the duty manager showed us to our apartment. Unfortunately from here it went rapidly down hill! As we were being shown around the apartment I asked about a password for Internet access and the duty manager said he would write it down for us. He looked for a piece of paper in a draw and instead found three empty cigarette packets. And this in a supposedly no smoking establishment. But more importantly it showed that the apartment had not been cleaned properly. Indeed most of the draws needed cleaning before you would want to put clothes in them. The cooker splasback was a large tray but it was covered in grease and had never been cleaned properly. The whole apartment needed a thorough cleaning.
To be fair when we informed management of these problems they did try to deal with it. But for somewhere that advertises itself as luxury apartments, and charges accordingly, this was not good enough.
We have stayed in apartments all over the world but this has to be one of the most over rated.

Room Tip: It is easy to find better value for money elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestportDundee, General Manager at Westport Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Having spoken with you regarding these issues during your stay, I can fully appreciate your disappointment. As before, I make no excuses for the room not being perfect when you arrived as it should have been. We got it wrong and for that, I apologise sincerely. I was glad to hear that the room was put right and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

Providing 100% of our guests with a 100% perfect experience is our aim at Westport, and the standards you witnessed, rest assured, will not re-occur and we will reaffirm our impeccable record of service and standards.

Thank you for your feedback and should you wish to discuss the matter further please feel free to contact me direct: fraser@westportservicedapartments.com

Kind Regards,

Fraser Kirk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great location, close to town and university. Stylish apartments, luxurious and spacey. After a 14 hour flight, just what we needed. Beds comfortable and nice bedding. Friendly staff and despite the rain, view from our balcony at night was lovely. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pragklbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

These apartments are out of this world totally amazing, views from balcony were breath taking and service was excellent nothing was too much bother. Can't recommend these apartments enough

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We are from London
We always stayed in 5 Star while travelling to Dundee.
Fist time we stayed here was in Jan.2012.
We stayed again on 24 May.
Place is central with parking facilities.
Eating places shopping in walking distance.
This place to stay is full of comfort better than 5 Star Hotel.
Rooms are clean stylish.We feel living in your own home with comfort and luxury.
Staff was so friendly and helpful......
Special thanks to the organisation and staff.
Will stay again.

Kumar

Room Tip: Grand Apartments Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANUP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel we had originally booked were over booked and they arranged for us to stay here. I would never of picked staying in a serviced apartment but I will defiantly stay here again. They offer great value for money, furnished to a high standard, large kitchen/lounge with everything you need. Very large bedroom with wall plasma, plenty of wardrobe space and dressing gowns. It was a very warm night and there were lots if windows to open to let in air.
There was plenty of tea and coffee and a breakfast pack left, they don't provide milk but there is a Tesco Express just round the corner (less than a minute).
I would have given these apartments 5 stars if there had been a bath, however there was a generous sizes shower. Staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutyfree21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the above apartments in April part of special birthday celebrations for 2012. The apartment and the building inside were breathtaking and immaculate. The staff made us feel welcome. The apartment had maid service which did not disappoint. Westport apartments are central, come with parking, a welcome pack on arrival and the staff could not do enough for you. We will be back to Westport. In our opinion it's the best place to stay in Dundee. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Serviced Apartments

Property: Westport Serviced Apartments
Address: 138 West Marketgait, Dundee DD1 1NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westport Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westport Serviced Apartments provides the independence, privacy and space of your own home while away on business or pleasure. Situated in the heart of the Cultural Quarter, Westport Serviced Apartments boasts the most stunning views across the City. Comprised of 24 elegant, spacious one and two bedroom apartments available for short lets from 1 night, with housekeeping service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westport Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Serviced Apartments Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing