We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westport Serviced Apartments
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The staff at Westport are very welcoming and friendly and when we arrived the duty manager showed us to our apartment. Unfortunately from here it went rapidly down hill! As we were being shown around the apartment I asked about a password for Internet access and the duty manager said he would write it down for us. He looked for a piece of paper in a draw and instead found three empty cigarette packets. And this in a supposedly no smoking establishment. But more importantly it showed that the apartment had not been cleaned properly. Indeed most of the draws needed cleaning before you would want to put clothes in them. The cooker splasback was a large tray but it was covered in grease and had never been cleaned properly. The whole apartment needed a thorough cleaning.
To be fair when we informed management of these problems they did try to deal with it. But for somewhere that advertises itself as luxury apartments, and charges accordingly, this was not good enough.
We have stayed in apartments all over the world but this has to be one of the most over rated.

Room Tip: It is easy to find better value for money elsewhere.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestportDundee, General Manager at Westport Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear Sir,

Having spoken with you regarding these issues during your stay, I can fully appreciate your disappointment. As before, I make no excuses for the room not being perfect when you arrived as it should have been. We got it wrong and for that, I apologise sincerely. I was glad to hear that the room was put right and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

Providing 100% of our guests with a 100% perfect experience is our aim at Westport, and the standards you witnessed, rest assured, will not re-occur and we will reaffirm our impeccable record of service and standards.

Thank you for your feedback and should you wish to discuss the matter further please feel free to contact me direct: fraser@westportservicedapartments.com

Kind Regards,

Fraser Kirk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Westport Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great location, close to town and university. Stylish apartments, luxurious and spacey. After a 14 hour flight, just what we needed. Beds comfortable and nice bedding. Friendly staff and despite the rain, view from our balcony at night was lovely. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pragklbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

These apartments are out of this world totally amazing, views from balcony were breath taking and service was excellent nothing was too much bother. Can't recommend these apartments enough

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skye0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We are from London
We always stayed in 5 Star while travelling to Dundee.
Fist time we stayed here was in Jan.2012.
We stayed again on 24 May.
Place is central with parking facilities.
Eating places shopping in walking distance.
This place to stay is full of comfort better than 5 Star Hotel.
Rooms are clean stylish.We feel living in your own home with comfort and luxury.
Staff was so friendly and helpful......
Special thanks to the organisation and staff.
Will stay again.

Kumar

Room Tip: Grand Apartments Best
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANUP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel we had originally booked were over booked and they arranged for us to stay here. I would never of picked staying in a serviced apartment but I will defiantly stay here again. They offer great value for money, furnished to a high standard, large kitchen/lounge with everything you need. Very large bedroom with wall plasma, plenty of wardrobe space and dressing gowns. It was a very warm night and there were lots if windows to open to let in air.
There was plenty of tea and coffee and a breakfast pack left, they don't provide milk but there is a Tesco Express just round the corner (less than a minute).
I would have given these apartments 5 stars if there had been a bath, however there was a generous sizes shower. Staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutyfree21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the above apartments in April part of special birthday celebrations for 2012. The apartment and the building inside were breathtaking and immaculate. The staff made us feel welcome. The apartment had maid service which did not disappoint. Westport apartments are central, come with parking, a welcome pack on arrival and the staff could not do enough for you. We will be back to Westport. In our opinion it's the best place to stay in Dundee. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyeandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great value for money and comfortable and clean, nice friendly receptionist

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeetsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.2 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Central Hotel
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westport Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westport Serviced Apartments

Address: 138 West Marketgait, Dundee DD1 1NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range: $153 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westport Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westport Serviced Apartments provides the independence, privacy and space of your own home while away on business or pleasure. Situated in the heart of the Cultural Quarter, Westport Serviced Apartments boasts the most stunning views across the City. Comprised of 24 elegant, spacious one and two bedroom apartments available for short lets from 1 night, with housekeeping service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Westport Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westport Serviced Apartments Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing