We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Night”

Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar
Ranked #1 of 376 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Night”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Found this place on Trip Advisor and booked as it was highly rated. It definitely did not disappoint. The food, service and ambience were superb and reasonably priced too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,380
    212
    53
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just been to tapas bar in broughty ferry ,food was excellent atmosphere was good ,liked the way all the food was explained to you by the waiter ,choice was excellent and very well priced, tapas ,wine ,coffees for 2 less than £63 would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone and we'll definatly be back .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect host,perfect food,perfect night.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Heard about this place through a colleague at work so thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed.
There was a welcoming atmosphere ,and it was a nice cozy restraunt. We received our drinks along with a bowl of nuts and olives ,and the host explained to us how the restraunt works. It is a set menu, however they can alter bits if you have an allergy or if there is something you really don't like.
Whilst we waited for our food we were given appetizers,which were great. The main meals were brilliant ,and with each course the host explained what the dishes were.
Overall we had a fantastic evening and it felt like it was a real occasion and not just like other restraunts where you are in an out within an hour. The standard of the food was exceptional and the price was excellent. We will without a doubt be back here again. It is a real gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A winning tapas restaurant”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This restaurant had been highly recommended to us by a few people and it didn't disappoint. We were a larger group of 9 and after being asked if there was anything we didn’t like in particular the food keep coming from the set menu. There was plenty of it and it was all very tasty and of an excellent quality. The waiter who served us was very friendly and explained all the dishes as they arrived. He was also very knowledgeable when it came to the wine list. We had a very enjoyable evening out with friends and will be sure to come back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, NW Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had a couple of nights on business and decided to give it ago after reading TA reviews.

Great little restaurant upstairs above a bar, quite small and not many tables. Rather than choose from a menu, you pay a fixed price (£15 or £16, can't remember) excluding drinks, you are asked if there are any particular likes or hates or allergies.

As well as getting olives and nibbles while waiting, i was then presented with several small tapas dishes, each one explained to say what it was.

As I was there on my own, I was also offered a local paper to read during the meal which was a nice touch. The place was quite busy even though it was middle of the week. The owners have done a good job with the restaurant, the food was excellent, I eat/make tapas at home and it was nice to be surprised with some new dishes rather than me picking my usual favourites.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARealHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing