We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic night away!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hideaway Experience

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hideaway Experience to your Saves list
The Hideaway Experience
Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic night away!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Booked 24 hours in the Honeymooners as a surprise for my hubby. Was an amazing night. Pure luxury. Totally exceeded my expectations!
We will definitely be returning. Highly recommend these hideaways for anyone looking to get away from it all and just enjoy each other ;)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ka4moc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Honeymooners' Hideaway. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your 24 Hour Break and that you managed to keep it a surprise from your husband! We were really pleased that the experience exceeded your expectations and that you would recommend it to others. As you have said the Hideaways are a great place to simply enjoy being together. I hope that you find the time to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
261
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

What can i say...my husband and i have just spent one evening at the romantics. It was wonderful! I feel like i have been away for a week! Hot tub was amazing and we made great use of the spa facilities! The home made bread was a lovely touch and the butcher pack was delicious! It is so nice to travel only an hour and a half from home and experience such a relaxing peaceful setting! We were not overlooked at all..even though the lodge is near to the farm house, it is completely private. Thank you very much for a wondefu nights stay, we will hopefully be returning soon :) xx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ej22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for writing such a positive review of your recent stay in the Romantics' Hideaway. I was really pleased to read that even with just one night away that you felt like it was a week! The privacy of the Hideaways is a key feature and I am delighted to read that you felt that experience as part of your relaxing break. Thank you also for the kind comments regarding the bread and the local butcher meat pack. I hope that you find the time to book again in the future and that you have a longer break next time!

Kind regards
Claire Moncrieff
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A complete tonic, luxury and privacy. The hot tub was fantastic even in the rain! We generally have active holidays and breaks but having spent a few days doing nothing we are converts. Our batteries are fully charged now.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your stay at the Hideaways earlier this year. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed the luxury and the privacy of the Hideaway and that even the rain didn't dampen your enjoyment of the hot tub! Hopefully we can welcome you both back when you feel the need to recharge your batteries.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a stay in the Lovers Hideaway, and it was absolutely amazing!! We were met on arrival and shown around the cabin, how to work different things and given some hints and suggestions, and from then on it was complete privacy. Everything about the cabin was perfect - from the hot tub, to the sauna, to the super king size bed and the freshly made bread! We will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: The Lover's Hideaway is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you for providing the comments regarding your stay in the Lovers' Hideaway earlier this year. We were delighted to read that you and your girlfriend had such a great time and that you found the welcome helpful in allowing you to relax in privacy during the rest of your stay. We would love to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our minimoon following our wedding and what an amazing time we had. We stayed in the honeymooners Hideaway which was just amazing. Beautifully furnished, decorated and maintained throughout and we had stunning views. We had ordered a Tesco delivery online to be delivered to us after we arrived and that arrived about 10 minutes after we did which was ideal. The reason we did this was so we wouldn't have to go out again as we simply just wanted to "hideaway".
The hideaway itself had everything we wanted and more and the hot tub and huge bath made it even more special. The bed was so comfy and we were always nice and warm. The owners have thought of everything and should be proud of their product. The chilled bubbly in the fridge and freshly baked loaf on arrival were fantastic and made us feel really special. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samilou42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your break in the Honeymooners' Hideaway earlier this year shortly after your wedding. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the décor of the Hideaway and we were delighted that you enjoyed some of the key features including the hot tub and the large roll top bath. We were glad that you had the opportunity to 'hideaway' to give you the chance to relax after, what was no doubt, a busy build up to your wedding. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wester ross
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our Hideaway (Honeymooers) was just simply fantastic. It is the most hassle free and easy stay I have had anywhere. We loved the hot tub and were in it within 10 mins of our arrival to watch the sun set and enjoy a nice drink. The hammock was also really comfortable and I really enjoyed lounging around in it and I loved the fire which was great to have burning away while we were enjoying our food.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing getaway and I will definitely be coming back.

I am nit-picking as I really could not find any faults but a speaker outside near the hot tub would be great just so you can hear a little music while you are enjoying the bubbles.
Thanks to Ross and Caroline,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayak111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback below regarding your stay at the Honeymooners' Hideaway earlier this year. We were very happy to read that you found your stay 'simply fantastic'. The hot tub is definitely a favourite feature of the Hideaways and we were pleased to read that you were able to enjoy it within minutes of your arrival. Thank you also for your suggestion of a speaker outside near the hot tub, we will certainly look into the possibility of this with engineers. In the meantime we thank you for your recommendation and we hope that we can welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The site is everything that was promised and more, I was sadly ill upon arrival and was still made to feel welcome and I'm sure the luxurious surroundings helped my feel better. We stayed in the lovers hideaway and it was stunning, extremely clean and an absolute pleasure to be there. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilAndJemmaMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Guest Relations Manager at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay in the Lovers' Hideaway earlier this year. I was sorry to read that you felt unwell when you arrived but I am glad to hear that the surroundings helped make you feel better. Thank you also for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the Hideaway and we have passed your comments onto our Housekeeper. We would be delighted if you were to recommend the Hideaways to friends and also if you were to return for another break yourself.

Kind regards
Claire
Guest Relations Manager, The Hideaway Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
5.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
22.0 mi away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#8 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
3.9 mi away
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Experience

Property: The Hideaway Experience
Address: Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideaway Experience is Scotland's couples only 5 star exclusive accommodation. No children, no groups, no stag parties just three 5 star luxury Hideaways located entirely on their own, set well apart from each other in beautiful rolling countryside at the foot of the Sidlaw Hills. Designed for complete privacy, rest, relaxation and fun the luxury Hideaways have a layout and facilities of a luxury hotel suite, but set alone from each other in the Scottish countryside. Guests can enjoy a dedicated spa room, outside hot tub, modern kitchen with a range of gadgets and SMEG appliances, double sided fire, four poster bed, cocktail bar. Located on a farm, guests can enjoy romantic walks, use the mountain bikes provided or take a short journey into the City of Dundee for great restaurants, shops and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Hideaway Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Experience Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing