We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous relaxing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hideaway Experience
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in the Lovers Hideaway in early August and was absolutely thrilled with the beautiful decor and surroundings. After becoming very ill the day earlier, I checked into the Lover's Hideaway and Caroline made sure I was completely looked after providing wonderful food and an environment which ensured I could recover peacefully. The hot tub looking out over the fields is stunning, and I could have happily stayed there all day. The music in each room was a nice added touch, and the bed was super comfortable! It was the perfect break away!
Next time I am in Scotland, I will definately be bringing myself and a special someone back here!!!
Thanks Caroline & Ross (& Claire!) for your fabulous hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Lovers' Hideaway. We are glad that time at the Lovers' Hideaway helped you recover from being ill. We hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon for some more R&R and for some time relaxing in the hot tub. Best wishes Caroline and Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
305
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked a 3 night stay at the ' Old Romantics 'at the hideaway. I had been before about 2 years ago and it was amazing then but with the refurb completed it takes it to another level. Caroline called early to tell me I was able to get an early check in which was great. When we arrived we were just so happy to see the new layout, The sound system through the house is superb. We also had a BBQ pack with fresh local steaks, sausages and lamb kebabs which were outstanding done on the bbq with a glass of the complimentary fizzy. The main highlight is the fantastic hot tub, moved a bit now and with small decking around it really is total relaxation with the amazing views of the city below and on a clear night the stars above. The new bathroom is lovely with the new shower and the sauna, another great addition is the huge bath in the bedroom. This really is the perfect place to get away to and feels like a million miles away. Can not rave about this place enough. Hope to return soon if possible.... Just perfect!! Alastair & Elise

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyalbion82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Alastair & Elise, thanks for taking the time to post a review of your return visit to the Romantics' Hideaway. We are delighted you loved the upgraded Hideaway, the new layout and sound system as well as the hot tub. Also glad to see you enjoyed Mr Piries fantastic Angus produce. We know time is in short supply so thanks for spending time on this feedback and we hope we can welcome you both back again soon. Best wishes Caroline and Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked two nights at the Lovers Hideaway as a surprise for my fiance. She loved it! It is quite possibly the best short break we have had and it is so close to home. The champagne and homemade bread on arrival was a nice surprise and went down a treat! We spent most of our time in the hot tub sipping champagne and watching the world go by.
It truly was an excellent stay and it exceeded all my expectations. Definitely worth the 5 star rating.
We are already thinking about booking a mini-moon after our wedding next year.

Steve & Gemma

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveoscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Steve and Gemma, thanks for taking time to write a review of your Hideaway Experience. We are glad you loved the Lovers' Hideaway and just delighted you thought might be the best short break you have had. We would love to welcome you both back for some more star gazing from the hot tub. Thanks again for your time submitting a review. Best wishes Caroline and Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing, amazing, amazing!! We have just returned from 2 nights of pure luxury in the honeymooners hideaway! The hideaway exceeded or expectations and we were totally wowed when we walked in the door! A fantastic/friendly service and excellent communication before arrival. The hot tub was definately a favourite sipping champagne under the stars :)

Thank you for an amazing mini moon, looking forward to returning when the hubby returns from his tour of afghanistan! We will recommend you to EVERYONE!!

Jack & Emma

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxELCxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Jack and Emma. Thank you for reviewing your Hideaway Experience. We are glad that your Hideaway Experience exceeded your expectations, especially on this important romantic break before Jack's tour in Afghanistan. We would love to welcome you back and wish Jack a safe time abroad. Thanks for the special mention of the communication prior to arrival. Best wishes Caroline and Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a fab place. Loved the old romantic cottage. It was very peaceful. Such luxury. The place is definatly worth 5 stars. Best part was relaxing in the hot tub under the stars. Could of stayed there forever. Will be recommending the hideaway experience to all our friends & family. We will be booking again.
R & R Murray

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R3ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review your Hideaway Experience. We love you thought the Romantics' Hideaway a fab place. Thanks for recommending us to your family and friends, we would love to welcome you both back soon. Best wishes Caroline and Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our experience at the hideaway was absolutely fantastic! Stunning lodge with stunning views! So peaceful and relaxing! The bottle of bubbly waiting for us in the fridge was such a nice way to start our break. The homemade bread was great too! I would highly recommend the hideaway experience to everyone! I'm now in the process of booking our next break there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are delighted you thought the Hideaway was stunning along with the stunning views. Glad you enjoyed the home made bread and the bubbly. Would love to welcome you back. Best wishes Caroline and Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I had booked this for our third wedding anniversary for two nights - 30th July to 1st August.

I received a phone call to advise that we would be able to get in early which I thought was really nice.

We followed the directions from the website which were spot on! Claire then appeared to show us round and welcome us both.

The lodge itself was wonderful. Arriving to have the Underfloor heating on and soft music playing over the built in speaker system was nice. It was as you'd expect if you have read all the other reviews - lovely decor, nice outdoor hot tub, large bath, sauna and private. It was lovely to wake up and look over at the scenery and sitting in the hot tub at night was great.

We would both highly recommend the hideaway - we hope to be able to go back again for a special occasion or for some time to chill out :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baillie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxuryhideaways, Owner at The Hideaway Experience, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of your Hideaway Experience. Hope you had a happy 3rd Anniversary at the Hideaway. We are glad you managed to have an early check in and that the directions were good. Claire has recently started working for The Hideaway Experience and our guests are enjoying being welcomed by Claire and speaking to her on the phone, thanks for giving Claire a mention, we know she is doing a great job. I know you hope to return again and we would love to welcome you both back anytime. Best wishes Caroline and Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
12.2 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
22.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Experience

Property: The Hideaway Experience
Address: Balkello Farm | Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hideaway Experience 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideaway Experience is Scotland's couples only 5 star exclusive accommodation. No children, no groups, no stag parties just three 5 star luxury Hideaways located entirely on their own, set well apart from each other in beautiful rolling countryside at the foot of the Sidlaw Hills. Designed for complete privacy, rest, relaxation and fun the luxury Hideaways have a layout and facilities of a luxury hotel suite, but set alone from each other in the Scottish countryside. Guests can enjoy a dedicated spa room, outside hot tub, modern kitchen with a range of gadgets and SMEG appliances, double sided fire, four poster bed, cocktail bar. Located on a farm, guests can enjoy romantic walks, use the mountain bikes provided or take a short journey into the City of Dundee for great restaurants, shops and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Hideaway Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Experience Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing