We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good enough”

ENCORE bar + brasserie
Ranked #83 of 374 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Encore brasserie and restaurant at Dundee Rep Theatre. In Dundee’s cultural quarter and at the heart of the Rep is our award winning bar and brasserie, Encore. Your ideal destination for intimate dinners and celebrations. Our first-rate chefs believe that food should be fresh, tasty and served with flare. We offer a stylish blend of classic and modern dishes, mouth watering sides and deliciously naughty desserts.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good enough”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

There has been a restaurant in Dundee Rep for ages, every now and then changing its name. I suspect since it is in the Rep it hasn't had to try too hard to get custom, especially when not long ago there were very few non--pub restaurants in Dundee. However, times have changed and now there is competition both in Dundee and in Broughty Ferry..... It was a perfectly adequate meal but for the price they should be offering more - more choice and more zing. The mains were very limited. My sea bass on potatoes was just that. Possibly not the freshest of seabass? (judging from the fishy smell) and rather tastless new looking potatoes and a green sauce. Given that we live in the middle of wonderful tatty producing country here the potatoes should be more interesting.
Nice surroundings, good serfvice, but just too limited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malx194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Theatrical Diner!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I visited the theatre to see the Snow Queen. I like eating here as it is convenient for the theatre upstairs. The choice is varied and I find is good value for money. The service is good although for weekend performances it is really necessary to book well in advance as it is popular. It is airy,clean and welcoming.the sweets are especially good if you forget the diet for one evening!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Most disappointing. Rotten menu, bland food, awful service. Tiny portions. Empty glasses left on the table all night and once the meal was served we had to search for staff for drinks etc and they didn't seem best pleased to be asked for anything. I used to eat in the Rep regularly a few years ago and it was great, but I was sorely let down last night and certainly won't be going back. Very, very disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David1965186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

A group of 14 of us went for or works night ou. It was a set menu and was reasonably priced, however the phrase "you get what you pay for" springs to mind... The service was appauling, food was practically thrown in front of us.. The starters were ok albeit not much marie rose dressings on the prawns.. Those who had turkey said it was bland and a bit dry (no gravy).. The lamb and barley stew-what a joke! Looked like someone had opened a tin of scotch broth soup and microwaved it..it was greasy was a strange colour (like dish water) and certainly not what was expected.. When I asked for a soup spoon the server just about fell off her perch! Dirty looks, bigs sighs, eyes rolling.. Not good in anyway. The dessert was the only good part of the meal although it had clearly been microwaved too!! This was my first time having a meal at the Rep... Will I be back? - NO WAY!! Bad food and even worse service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyPuppy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“will be visiting again”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Lovely food served by friendly and attentive staff at a reasonable price. We are planning another visit soon

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ENCORE bar + brasserie also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
 
Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to ENCORE bar + brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing