We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Building with Unsympathetic Extension”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic Building with Unsympathetic Extension”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed in a lovely King Size Deluxe room at this hotel. Reception staff very welcoming but any other staff we met were apparently mute. This is a very nice hotel set in quite grounds which we really enjoyed. The old house part was very impressive but the bedrooms were in an unattractive extension with old metal windows. The hall carpets seemed to be stained right throughout the upstairs level. The breakfast was served in a well laid out conservatory(glass walls and roof) and as we were there on a bright ,sunny morning this was lovely. Would be awful on a cold, wet day! There was a particularly grumpy waitress in the breakfast room who seemed to be in charge of the others. At no time did they ask us if we had enough tea/coffee and they were very slow to remove used plates A pity as the food was all very tasty and there was a good selection of hot and cold dishes.
Star member of staff, Sarah, on reception was very helpful and booked us into a great restaurant for dinner and organised taxi. £10 each way into Dundee but worth it for the benefits of staying at this attractive location out of the city.

Room Tip: Get a King Size Deluxe. Really comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear marion e,

Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us however I am aware that there were some aspects that let it down namely your breakfast experience.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team to enable us to improve our service to all guests.

In the meantime I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    388
    128
    43
    23
See reviews for
199
498
35
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for nice quiet accommodation with easy access by car to the city of Dundee and to the Tay Bridge to Fife. A friendly welcome awaits from staff who seem to take delight in assisting the hotel' guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank arty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear arty15,

I am glad to see that you would recommend our hotel to others after your recent stay with us and that our staff gave you a friendly welcome.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights last week for business. early warm welcome and incredibly helpful staff on reception and throughout, even suggesting where I could go for a run. Room immaculate and comfortable. Great food in bar and restaurant. Highlight for me was a lady called Anne who greeted me at breakfast - what a ray of sunshine! Really bubbly, enthusiastic and infectious positivity. I left every morning with a smile on my face. She is a real credit to the hotel and the benchmark for brilliant and memorable customer service. What a lovely lady

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Tony M,

I am delighted to learn that your stay was made by one of our staff members Anne, who I will make sure to pass your comments onto alongside the rest of our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Warm Welcome with a lovely warm choc chip cookie Single bed uncomfortable but bed made up to King size for 2nd night. What a difference!Food good in restaurant and bar. Review has to be made up to 200 words Confused! Said all I need to say!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Lynda M,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed a warm welcome and that your recent stay with us was a pleasant experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Booked this hotel on a 2 nights DBB basis with 3rd night BB free. It's a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds. The staff are all so nice and helpful. Room was very nice with comfy bed. Meals were very good although we decided to eat in the lounge rather than the more formal dining room. Breakfast is a cheery affair with plenty of choice. The only slight drawback is this hotel is on outskirts of Dundee and we wanted to go into town and have lunch with some wine and taxi was £11 each way. This apart I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. PS never used pool etc but it was not busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebearboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Bluebearboy,

I am delighted to learnt that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that in particular you received a pleasant breakfast experience. I will make sure to pass your comments onto the breakfast team in particular so that they know their efforts were appreciated.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lovely hotel. Very reasonable. £10 taxi fare to town centre. Breakfast room was very nice looking out onto beautiful grounds. Buffet breakfast with plenty of choices although I would avoid the black pudding. Ideal for a weekend in Dundee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Joanne C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment through Trip Advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

First stay since it used to be Landmark hotel, big improvement on service, rooms nice & comfortable as before, only drawback was the restaurant food very limited for stays of more than a week, over priced & drink very expensive, plus side, staff very helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: Back facing room nice & quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeDundee, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear George M,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our recent changes to the hotel.

I will make sure to pass your comments onto the team so that they know how much their efforts were appreciated.


Yours sincerely,
Richard Ellison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.9 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
8.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Address: Kingsway West, Dundee DD2 5JT, Scotland (Formerly The Landmark Dundee)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dundee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#9 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among six acres of landscaped gardens, a short drive from Dundee city centre, the hotel boasts spacious modern bedrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas, complimentary car parking, AA Rosette dining in The Maze restaurant, Lounge Bar, 3 conference suites for up to 120 delegates and a fitness centre with swimming pool, sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Dundee Hotel Dundee
The Landmark Hotel Dundee
Landmark Hotel Dundee
DoubleTree By Hilton Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing