We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shaftesbury Lodge
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here. Food was excellent. My husband loved the salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast. Lovely room and beautiful bathroom. The shower was a joy after some of the hotels we had stayed in on holiday. Hosts could not have been more welcoming or helpful with local knowledge.

Room Tip: Great place to stay. Not too far outside Dundee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaYaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments and taking the time to post your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    34
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
58
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Upon our arrival I was a tad worried since the lodge is in what appears to be a residential area. Much to our surprise it was warm, comfortable, clean with an excellent breakfast. Unfortunately we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkma52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Delighted we exceeded your initial expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My mother and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst father was undergoing surgery in the near by hospital. Heather the owner was very welcoming and friendly and nothing seemed to be a bother, very obliging. The Shaftesbury Lodge was fantastic, the room we had had was a good size with ensuite bathroom,TV/wifi and tea and coffee facilities. Beds were extremely comfortable and both mum and myself slept really well. Breakfast was fab too, great selection and cooked fresh to order. I had salmon and scrambled egg on both mornings,delicious,fresh and a huge portion. Parking is not a problem, plenty of spaces outside the door. I would highly recommend the Shaftesbury and look forward to returning in the future. Well done Heather you have a little gem here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
What a fabulous review - thank you! I was delighted to be able to make your visit to Dundee more bearable under the circumstances. Hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night last weekend (1st/2nd March) when visiting nearby family in Dundee, and had a lovely friendly welcome from Heather. We parked (free) almost outside the door very easily. Our room was warm and comfortable and they had even put an extra heater in the room, because a chilly wind was blowing when we arrived. The bed was divinely comfortable and the room and house were very clean and attractive. Really lovely bedding! Heather took the trouble to show us how to connect to the WiFi, which worked well and was free. The choice at breakfast was amazing and beautifully cooked. Would definitely recommend Shaftesbury Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for a glowing review, what lovely comments and feedback. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had to visit Dundee briefly and I researched where to stay and read the reviews and booked accordingly. It was definitely the right decision. The hotel was easy to find and located in a quiet area with plenty of on street parking. Martin welcomed us and showed us to a lovely room which was spotlessly clean, (as was the rest of the property). The bed was confortable and the linen lovely.
WiFi was easily available and found by my phone in an instant which was great.
Breakfast menu was varied and had something for everyone. Service was timely and friendly, Martin's marmalade was delicious!
Would definitely visit again and have no hesitation in recommending th Shaftesbury Lodge to anyone intending to stay in Dundee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsmead01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
What a super review - thank you for taking the time to comment on all the aspects of your stay. Hope to see you again when in Dundee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed in Shaftesbury Lodge for one night whilst visiting Dundee on business. I like a hotel that is quiet, comfortable and clean. Shaftesbury Lodge is situated in a quiet suburb within easy distance of the University and the city centre, good restaurants are near by, and there is good roadside parking (no pay & display required). The bed I slept in was one of the most comfortable hotels beds I have experienced (as were the pillows) and the room was well equipped, spotless and tastefully finished. Free wifi. An excellent breakfast. I, along with my business companions were incredibly well looked after. Would I go back? It will be my first choice the next timeI visit Dundee. Thank you so much for looking after me so well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromA2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Many thanks for posting an excellent and informative review for other guests looking to stay with us. Delighted that both you and your colleagues enjoyed the hospitality and next time, I look forward to meeting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We been un this little house for only few days, the place it is very clean and good the service is good and the lady is very attentive and courteous at all. Tank you if we come again in Dundee dure we beck in this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
That was kind of you to take the time to post your review and for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again should you be in Dundee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Property: Shaftesbury Lodge
Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
#9 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing