We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay, great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shaftesbury Lodge
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel has a traditional feel but is very comfortable with spacious rooms and good facilities. Rooms are bright and very well decorated with free wifi, tv, hot drink making facilities. The proprietor is very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is situated in a quiet road but only twenty minutes walk from the city centre and ten minutes from the restaurants on Perth Road. Breakfasts are substanital and individually cooked. It was an ideal place to stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyWebUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for a great review - hope to see you again if you are visiting the Dundee Rep Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    35
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
59
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a discovery! Individually decorated, very spacious rooms with excellent facilities. Our only regret was that, after a copious evening meal at the local Italian, we were unable to do justice to the fantastic choice of breakfast dishes. Being a little way from the centre of Dundee, parking is easy and free. All in all, it's a winning combination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Great honest review and informative for other guests - many thanks for taking the time to post it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reepham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 night while visiting daughter at her Uni down the road. Really clean, large room, very friendly owners and really really great breakfasts. I would highly recommend staying here whilst in Dundee. We will stay here every time we visit Dundee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks for your superb review and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Not old fashioned at all. Fresh decoration and high ceilings make for spacious bedrooms and comfortable lounge. The dining room has Rene Mackintosh style chairs. Delicious breakfast. Free wifi. It is a 30 minute walk to town but there are plenty of buses or £5 taxi. Friendly welcome. We couldn't get into Premier Inn and are pleased as we wouldn't have found it otherwise. Parking as long as you like in quiet street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Excellent review and most informative - many thanks and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We are two Canadian couples who stayed at the Shaftesbury in late August. The rooms were a nice size and clean. The breakfasts menu was varied and the food was great. The Shaftesbury has lots of character. We walked to Drouthys for supper the first night (a bar with good food) and liked it enough to go back again. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ss987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete your review - I know you stayed in a lot of different places on your trip to Scotland and delighted you thought us worthy of 10/10!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

my buddy and I had a great stay at The Shaftesbury Lodge. Our room with twin beds was large enough for two guys, and was quiet and clean, and had modern bath. The couple that run this large B&B are gracious, warm, and take care of all the details,including recommendations for golf coursesw, restaurants, directions, etc. Breakfast was great!.................Doug and Joe

Room Tip: Our room in front was large enough and very quiet. Bed was firm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougD386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Such a pleasure to you have you guys stay with us all the way from Kentucky! I hope we see you again if you come back and try some more golf courses in the area. Many thanks for taking the time to give us a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My father, husband, and I stayed here for one week in August while on a golf trip. Overall, we loved the Shaftesbury Lodge! Heather is so welcoming and accommodating!

PROS:
*Dundee location is perfectly central to golfing locations, such as Carnoustie, St. Andrews, and Crail. An hour and a half or so from Edinburgh.

*Delicious breakfast included in the price. You have your choice of a variety of items, such as porridge, omelettes, smoked salmon, eggs, etc.

*Double-sized room was a very nice size.

*Very clean.

*Free Wi-Fi works well.

*Free on-street parking.

*Very quiet and comfortable beds...good for sleeping. (Though are those pillows REAL down?? I don't like that...)

CONS
*My father thought his single-sized room was extremely small.

*You can walk to restaurants, but you must drive to the city-centre (about 1.5 miles).

*The biggest con, and the reason for my not giving this property five-stars, is the shower. There is practically NO water pressure. I took 30-minute showers and couldn't get all the shampoo out of my hair. It's literally such bad pressure that I'm not sure if I could stay here again, which is a shame because I really did love everything else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natter1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive and informative review. I am pleased to report that since your stay we have had a chance to change some pipe work and replace the shower so fingers crossed we have rectified the issue. Hopefully we will see you on your next golfing trip to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Property: Shaftesbury Lodge
Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
#9 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing