We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for the dosh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shaftesbury Lodge
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“OK for the dosh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

This is a bit of an odd place but "odd" in a good way! It's a small hotel in a former mill owners house. The room I stayed in was quite spacious with everything I needed apart from the TV which didn't work. The welcome was warm and friendly and the food fine. The odd bit for a Scottish hotel is that the place plays host to 2 restaurants - a chinese (which is very good) and a European cuisine restaurant which I didn't try. The hotel, can as result, smell a little bit like a chinese take away which is a shame. Try the kedgiree for breakfast - it's just like egg fried rice with bits of fish but what else would you expect? There's free wireless internet acces which was a bonus.

  • Liked — freindly staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldo_Bonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    35
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
59
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2007

I take a long time choosing my accommodation over the net. My girlfriend and I were visiting Dundee for one night only, to go to Albert Lee's (check him out) concert in the Whitehall theatre. The hotel is minutes away by foot and had good reviews, so we picked it.

We were given a spacious room with a large bathroom and a bathtub fitted with shower. The furnishings were a little ancient but full of character (what a nice change, no Ikea/MFI!) There was tea and coffee making facilities and a nice view of the hotel garden. Everything (bed/carpets etc) was spotlessly clean.

After freshening up, we went downstairs for something to eat and opted for the Chinese in-house restaurant (there are two restaurants in the hotel). Food was brilliant and the service fast and friendly and the prices reasonable. Great start to the evening.

We then attended the concert but in the morning missed the breakfast which was included in the price - so no comment on that, but I'm sure we wouldn't have been disappointed.

All in all the Shaftesbury hotel is a great place to stay and all at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanDupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

The hotel was excellent value for money, the room excellent, well presented, the staff were friendly and very helpful, we had the Honeymoon Suite and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2006

We arrived at the Shaftesbury on the coldest day of the year so far. The hotel is fine from the outside,situated in a nice area and the website was reassuring.

I booked in advance and gave card details so our arrival was wholly expected. Despite this our large room was freezing and it was colder inside than out. We put on the feeble electric heater for instant warmth and waited for the central heating to come on. It never did. My husband made two trips down to reception and was assured the heating was working. After waiting for over an hour we decided to cut our losses and check out. We have never done this before in over 25 years of staying in hotels in the UK and abroad.

Our room was fairly shabby but seemed clean and it it had been warm we would have stayed on.

Avoid the Shaftesbury at all costs!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The freezing cold room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mumonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

If it weren't for the dreadful bed that we had, we would have enjoyed our stay a lot more. It was impossible to move without making the entire bed rattle and waking up your partner.

Putting this aside, the service was excellent and we enjoyed the breakfast a lot. The free DVD and internet service is also a nice touch.

Perhaps if we had been in a different room (room 4), I could have awarded a fourth star.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid room 4
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2005

I stayed at the Shaftesbury hotel this September whilst on business at the University.
I stayed in a very spacious room , spotlessly clean, comfortable bed , crisp white cotton linen.
Breakfast was cooked to order and served.I had dinner the night before at one of the hotels restaurants ( they have two) it was fantastic.

The hotel has free DVDs for guests and free internet access , wireless.
The staff are discreet and extremely helpful.

I can definately recommend the Shaftesbury Hotel and I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Property: Shaftesbury Lodge
Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
#9 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing