We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommend”
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shaftesbury Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Everything about this place is perfect. We had a large front room with views of the Firth of Tay.
Heather was spot on with her suggestion of the Indian Restaurant, and it is a short walk away.
Our room was very clean, beds comfortable but there's an on-going issue of curtain rails that Heather agrees needs seen too. Otherwise no complaints and no regrets for choosing Shaftesbury Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salupatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Dilse - Indian restaurant rarely let us down with their great food and service. Curtain rail all fixed now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place is about a mile from the centre of Dundee. Very nice large room and bathroom with para been-free toiletries. Very quiet. Car parking is on the street but there is plenty of space. Fantastic choice of breakfast, including mushrooms on toast and scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Beautifully cooked and charming service.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Suzywac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Excellent review - many thanks for a top score

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Last minute stop off while on business.

Was welcomed by the owners who were very helpful and polite.

The room i was allocated was a bit on the small side but had everything i needed. Was clean and tidy. My only gripe was the room i was next to must have had the windows open all night as the draught was banging the door !

Within 5 mins walk of a range of restaurants and bars.

Breakfast in the morning was great. Decent selection of continental and a brilliant fresh cooked breakfast.

Will definately stay here again if required but will ask for another room !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Many thanks for your positive comments and really sorry your sleep was disturbed. We'll get it spot on next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for the one night, after receiving a warm welcome, we were shown to room 3, a spacious room with extremely comfortable beds.The room was well furnished and both room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The breakfast was delicious with a great choice on offer. I could not find fault with anything and if returning to Dundee this would be my first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78LauraT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Delighted both you and your sister enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to do a review. See you again soon I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights in order to attend our son's graduation. The hotel was lovely, well decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast options were impressive - an excellent selection for a variety of tastes - and the smoked salmon was delicious. However the hospitality shown by both Heather and Martin was second to none. They enabled us to have a marvellous experience with our son and completely removed any concerns in relation to the accommodation. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Dundee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joaniemac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Again thank you for your superb review, it was a pleasure to have you staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a delightful guest house in a great location with plenty on street parking. We only met the lady of the house and she was very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was large with a great sized bathroom and very comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious with good quality ingredients. Some of the larger hotels in the area could learn some lessons from here.
Overall a great stay and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Many thanks for a lovely review, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Beautiful property decorated to a very high standard.Big comfortable room. Lovely couple who served us a great breakfast. We stay in Dundee regularly and have used several establishments including the large hotels in the area. This small hotel was by far our best experience. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Perfect score - many thanks! Look forward to seeing you again when you are staying in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
1.0 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: $98 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing