We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shaftesbury Lodge
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
328 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a delightful guest house in a great location with plenty on street parking. We only met the lady of the house and she was very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was large with a great sized bathroom and very comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious with good quality ingredients. Some of the larger hotels in the area could learn some lessons from here.
Overall a great stay and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Many thanks for a lovely review, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    33
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
57
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Beautiful property decorated to a very high standard.Big comfortable room. Lovely couple who served us a great breakfast. We stay in Dundee regularly and have used several establishments including the large hotels in the area. This small hotel was by far our best experience. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Perfect score - many thanks! Look forward to seeing you again when you are staying in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLISLE
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night lovely big double ensuite . Tolietries were lovely conditioner shampoo shower gel and body lotion . Bed so comfy slept like a log host martin recommended italian for meal nearby amazing food . Breakfast amazing had smoked salmon and scrambled egg husband loved his bacon sandwich . sea just down the road bedding so fresh wonderful break if your in the area dont waste your money on big hotels as this place tops them all . thanku to u both fiona carlisle x see u again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trixxy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Great review, many thanks for taking the time to post it. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked a double and a single room over Easter weekend. Situated on a quiet road near heart of city. Plenty of street parking. Warm welcome to a very clean and "happy" hotel. Rooms are a good size with good beds. Bathrooms warm and shower had a good flow of hot water. Decor is modern homely and in good order. The rooms were quiet with little external or internal noise. Breakfast had a good choice and quality was evident and well cooked. Will return here when visiting Dundee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for an informative and very positive review, we appreciate you taking the time to complete it. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you had a smooth flight back to Bristol and enjoyed the rest of the Easter break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Shaftesbury for five nights in October. The large room was beautifully decorated with a huge bay window. The owners were very helpful and very professional in every way. The breakfasts, included in the room price, were excellent with a choice of continental style or full Scottish breakfast.
We had guests over one night and entertained them in the front room and Heather was most gracious in serving us tea.
The hotel, which has a B&B feel, is quaint and charming.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We were pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a successful trip finding out more about your ancestors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here as a group, from the outset the proprietors could not do enough for us. The easily accommodated all our requests in relation to late check in and room allocations. The Hotel itself is full of character and charm, and it is clear that the owners take real pride in its up keep. The rooms and all the facilities provided were perfect for all in our small group, warm, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and I would highly recommend Martins homemade Marmalade 10/10. I really can’t wait to visit again, Many Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
What lovely comments - Thank you! Graduation is a special time, glad we added to the enjoyment of yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Shaftesbury Lodge and it was equally as pleasant as our stay there last year. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing and there is plenty of choice to suit everyone. Heather and Martin are great hosts and we look forward to staying there again in the futuure. Gordon & Sue, Yorkshire

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanjoyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherL6591, Owner at Shaftesbury Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Lovely to see you both again and delighted that you came back for your return visit and survived a rather hectic weekend. Many thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again next autumn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Property: Shaftesbury Lodge
Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
#9 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing