We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the Best B+B”
Review of Shaftesbury Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shaftesbury Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Among the Best B+B”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Warm welcome, quiet, high ceiling room with ensuite bath. A lot of cupboard space with large window to the back garden. Very comfortable queen bed and small wall mounted flat screen, facility also served by higher speed wireless on all floors. Modern upgrade to the shower and bathroom a plus. Strange that the heat only comes on a few hours a day but a portable heater provided comfort after a few hours. Breakfast was from a menu with the usual Full English and other selections such as Salmon, poached, scrambled.... Continental was minimal. A spacious elegant dining area to be experienced. Ample street parking 30 minutes walk from downtown. A large green park by the water just south. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
60
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We spent a very pleasant three nights. Martin's cooking is excellent, breakfast kept us going until dinner. Heather's front of house was very welcoming and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. We would certainly return and recommend the Shaftesbury to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Spacious small hotel with fluffy bathtowels and toiletries. Pleasant helpful staff and lovely breakfast

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineamymcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

fantastic hotel, not far from the city centre. Service was great, and with a smile, and the room was very comfy, with a bath which was appreciated .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProblematicEdjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We arrived to a very warm welcome, with detailed information about the surrounding area.
Room very comfortable, very clean, nothing too much trouble, if you required anything. Excellent daily top of Welcome Tray and Toiletries.
Very pleasant and comfortable lounge area for guest use with original features of the building.
Computer for guest use also in lounge if you haven’t brought your own.
Snacks are also available from the hotel and I can certainly recommend the leek soup.
Bus stops into the main city are perfectly placed and frequent (Stage Coach 73, 77 bus and National Dundee 5 bus) and it isn’t that far to walk.
Main Bus Station Seagate allows you to travel around very easily and the Train station is also very handy to get to surrounding areas.
Lovely views of the Tay from the hotel.
Heather and Martin were perfect hosts and always very friendly and helpful and have a good knowledge of the surrounding area. Very hardworking hosts.
Thanks Heather and Martin for a perfect holiday, we shall definitely be returning to The Shaftesbury Hotel.
Anne-Marie Darby

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BOBBYAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

we would normally go to the bigger hotels but they were all booked so ended up booking shaftsbury, and we're so glad we did. lovely welcome from the owner, very helpful. room was lovely. we were in family room & it was quite big. room & hotel are spotless. breakfast was excellent & plenty of choice even for fussy eaters!! They are licensed but we didn't use this facility. only 10 min walk to town centre. would definetley go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We arrived in Dundee with no accommodation booked and this was a bad idea as womens golf open on at Carnoustie! No availability at the usual suspects of chain hotels so we grabbed a Perth & Angus booklet from Tourist Info - managed to get a room at the Shaftesbury - the best in the house and to be recommended! Room 12 is at the top of the house and is massive with a beautiful floor to ceiling bay window, double AND single bed, large settee, occasional chairs, coffee table, en-suite,TV, tea-coffee facilities! And the beds were amazingly comfortable. The public rooms have smart contemporary decor, there is a bar and we were lucky to have a beautiful sunny day to sit outside with our drinks (front door key is supplied as the main door is always locked so you are assured that the the bar is residents only) Breakfast next day was well cooked and presented and the warm and friendly service was much appreciated. We walked I think 20 minutes, maybe slightly less, to city centre and took a taxi back - very accessible but in a quiet residential area with adequate on-street parking. If you want friendly, personal service on the city doorstep in a beautiful house that is the anti-thesis of modern impersonal hotels, this is for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.5 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
1.0 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Lodge

Property: Shaftesbury Lodge
Address: 1 Hyndford Street, Dundee DD2 1HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaftesbury is situated in the quiet west-end of Dundee. It is ideally located, close to the vibrant city centre, Dundee University, Ninewells Hospital, Dundee airport, Dundee Botanic Garden,BMI Fernbrae Hospital and the Riverside Technology Park. Only 5 minutes walk to the West Park Conference Centre. The Shaftesbury is run by Heather and Martin offering a warm welcome, great breakfasts, clean and comfortable accommodation, making your stay perfect and enjoyable when visiting Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Shaftesbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Hotel Dundee
Shaftesbury Lodge Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing