We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queens Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Queens Hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Friendly staff, very welcoming. Decor slightly dated around the hotel but very clean and food was of high quality. Nice and close to the shops and a very relaxed atmosphere. Rooms were kept neat and tidy with ample towels and we were well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    208
    112
    45
    35
See reviews for
86
174
46
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NorthYorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Queens is a delightful traditional Scottish hotel lovely room and public areas very spacious.
Restaurant and bar staff helpful and friendly
Food was lovely in the restaurant and served very nicely.
Excellent in every way

Room Tip: I had a room on the corner of the building large and spacious with a double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally&Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Tired and worn furnishings. Broken mattress in our room, and we had to be moved for one night. Managerial staff indifferent to problem, indeed seemed annoyed with us that this had been brought to their attention. They claimed it was too late at night to fix the problem, it was 6p.m.! No apology or compensation, not the level of service we expected from a Best Western Hotel. Very disappointing indeed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at front of hotel, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meiosis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dundee hotels

United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I booked a 4 night stay at the Queens Hotel (online) for my mum when she traveled to Dundee to visit me at the university. The nightly rate was great. The rooms appeared to be very clean and comfortable. The staff was very welcoming, professional, and accommodating. One evening we enjoyed tea at the "Nosey Parker" (restaurant attached to the hotel), and it was absolutely delicious. This hotel is also in an excellent location. It's just across the road from the University of Dundee, and within a short walking distance to the town centre, university accommodation, train station, etc. I certainly would recommend this hotel to others that are planning a visit to Dundee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaredDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were in Dundee working on a near bye power station and used the Queens as an over night stay. We got a good rate on two rooms (£120) mine was at the front of the hotel and thought there may be some noise from the street below but I had no issues. The hotel is centrally located with its own private car park which is a big plus in Dundee you need to get a pin number from reception when leaving. The Hotel is used by a number of contractors during the week but all were very good natured. Overall a very positive experience my partner and I are thinking of staying for the weekend at the Queens as there are some excellent pubs in the city.

Room Tip: Mat be ask for a room at the rear at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvrpieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was booked into this hotel by colleagues at the University of Dundee. The hotel itself is situated right in the heart of the city centre, and opposite the entrance to the University.

Even a problem with my booking was sorted with the upmost professionalism.

Breakfast is a buffet selection, and was one of the best I have eaten. The Arbroath Smokies are also a nice touch.

If I am ever back in Dundee I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms do overlook a main road that was busy with both traffic and people quite late into the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I recently organised our 50th Nursing reunion in the Queen's hotel, and wanted it themed to highlight aspects of the old Dundee Royal Infirmary where we all started out nurse training in 1964. Leah the front desk manager said she would design a special menu front which she did and made a superb job. We were given special rates and on arrival were greeted by the lovely Kerry. I was given a wonderful spacious room with plenty seating for our happy hour. The meal was wonderful with choices to suit everyone and nothing was too much effort for the staff. The view from the room was just wonderful and for any visitor to Dundee I would recommend the room I was given. I can safely speak for the entire group in saying that our choice of Hotel could not have been bettered. Thanks to all who made our evening most memorable. Thank you Leah for providing a beautiful menu which impressed everyone and needless to say have gone off signed by each person as a memento

Room Tip: I stayed in room 307 so spacious with views over the city and across the Tay Road Bridge to Fife. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Property: Best Western Queens Hotel
Address: Queens Hotel Buildings 160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
Best Western Queens Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing