We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel was booked for me by my company. Having seen some of the reviews, I was a bit dubious about it. However, my experience of this hotel was excellent. Free parking right in the city centre. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice room, with comfortable bed and all facilities. Free wi-fi which worked well. Excellent food in "Nosey Parker's" in evening, and a good breakfast next morning. Helpfully able to have a late checkout at no extra cost, and park all day until after my meeting. What's not to like?

Room Tip: I was ion 2nd floor, with a corner window. Wifi was fine there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 580 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Travelled to Dundee and needed somewhere to sleep. Friendly and helpful staff, room is a bit drab, but bed is quite comfortable. Wifi didn't reach the room, which was clean and alarm. Parked for the rest of the day, convenient for my purpose.

Good breakfast, set you up for the day

Will book again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in October 2013, by myself.
I chose this hotel as it is close to the University, that I had an event to attend.
On arrival first impression was very good. Inside looked very up-market and grand. Check in was very easy and quick.
However the receptionist informed me I was in room 202, however never told me directions how to get there. (no mention where stairs was and if there was a lift or not).
On arrival in the room I had mixed feelings. The room was tastefully decorated, and had everything one requires.
However on the window ledge there was a half drunken bottle of cola, which had been left behind by a previous resident. Also the window had a large crack on it.
As only staying 1 night, and had a busy afternoon and evening, I just ignored the faults and headed out for the events ahead.
When I returned in evening, went for a shower ect.
The bathroom was extremely clean, cannot fault the cleanliness in that room. Whenever I travel I always take my own washing gel's. This provided to be a good thing as the soap in bath/shower was empty.
Had a great night sleep, bed very comfy.
Breakfast in the morning is highly recommended. It is all buffet, yogurts, cereals, toast ect.
Then a selection of cooked items.
Overall a good hotel, minor faults, but still serves the purpose.

Room Tip: Don't book direct with best western as more expensive book through trip advisor ect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I received a warm welcome on check in, good car park to rear of hotel, room and bathroom clean, TV some what small, heating on all night made it a little warm once in bed thou, breakfast was fine, good selection and hot. Close to City centre all shops within walking distance of hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andrew4746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

No Internet connection, noisy vents, creaky floors, creaky bed, uncaring staff, bad breakfast, broken shower............... We checked out a day early even though we had already paid for it. Some staff were helpful but the reception staff could not care less. The room was warm, that is the best thing I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank DougPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

nice staff easy parking and right by other restaurants and bars if you need them. The room was clean and practical and the restaurant food good as was the bar food. Both reasonably priced for a city hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank smarty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

One night, child free stay with my husband expecting to get lots of sleep, unfortunately was not to be! Woken at 4am by fire alarm and had to evacuate the building till around 5 am. Staff were good though and kept us up to date with events (apparently the gallery next door was the cause, alarms seem to be connected) tired the next morning but it didn't spoil a nice stay.
Hotel very central for shops and attractions in dundee and the free car park was good, plenty of spaces.
Rooms were clean and well decorated. Plenty of tea and coffee and shortbread. We were on the second floor facing the water and with a lovely view of the Discovery ship, quite quiet though we did hear a bottles clinking at 6.30, either a delivery or collection.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and food was hot, the chef brought out fresh bacon, eggs etc regularly.
No complaints and we would definitely visit again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank actual_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Address: Queens Hotel Buildings 160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range: $84 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
Best Western Queens Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing