We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recomend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
1 review
“Recomend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for a private function and we loved it. Most of the staff were lovely and could not help you enough. Only one or two of the younger staff let them down with there attitude. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Just wished you could get the same meals in the restaurant as you could on room service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    202
    109
    45
    34
See reviews for
86
169
43
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HAYWARD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Queens Hotel in Dundee while visiting St. Andrews and Dundee in June, 2013. We weren’t sure what to expect since it was an old hotel, built in 1878, but we were pleasantly surprised. Before arriving at the Queens Hotel we had toured the RSS Discovery, and I remember reading that the celebration for the ship’s return was held at the hotel. The lobby and stairway is well kept up and gives an impression of elegance. There are several multipurpose rooms and the hotel hosts many events such as weddings and conferences. There were lots of young women celebrating while we were there, but they were never noisy enough to bother us. We were on the second floor facing the street, and since it was a Friday night we could hear people laughing or shouting as they walked by, so I would recommend a room away from the street for light sleepers. The room itself was large with a high ceiling and nicely furnished. The bathroom was a bit small but clean and everything was in good working order. We walked around the area in the evening and found a lot of restaurants, pubs and stores. A breakfast that was available for 10 pounds over the room price of 75 pounds was average – mostly self serve with only one waiter who took orders for hot food. In all, I considered the Queens Hotel a very good deal, especially since we had just stayed at a very inferior hotel for 10 pounds less. I would recommend this beautiful old hotel in Dundee to anyone looking for a nice, affordable hotel and who would appreciate staying in an historical landmark.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJdeHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here for four nights on business and found it hard to fault. Good comfortable clean rooms. Plenty of television channels. Plenty of tea coffee and good quality shortbread. WiFi was fast and reliable. Breakfast was good with plenty of hot and cold choices. Location is fantastic being a short walk from the centre and all that has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeCfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

On arrival the receptionist was very friendly. Found our room on the 3rd floor and have a beautiful view over the river Tay. Receptionist informed us of best places to shop. Room spotless (and I'm OCD). Looking forward to staying the next couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beggsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The queens hotel is a good hotel a bit tired and need of up dating but at the same time our room was very clean the only thing wrong we were given a room and the front with no view and had street noise also there was a couple of weddings on the Sat night and as we were on the second floor we heard a lot of the noise from it car parking was good also the breakfast was good nothing special but the staff were great and I would stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a room at back away from street and maybe get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for three nights recently and couldn't find fault with the place. It is an old hotel so there are areas that have faded a little. I stayed on the fourth floor; the room was small but comfortable and clean, the bathroom likewise. I thought the staff were friendly and the food was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allonjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Level Contributor
155 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is an historic hotel, ideally suited for exploring the city, next to the University and City centre. It has a grand staircase, and convenient car park, but the over all look of the hotel is tired. Although the room was clean and roomy, everything was a very drab brown. However, there were no toiletries, the soap/shower gel were in squeezy bottles attached to the wall. Although 'green' this sends the wrong message to a tired traveller wanting to relax in the bath, that this hotel is functional rather than luxurious. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit and poached eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Address: 160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing