We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great staff in a faded hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Dundee
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great staff in a faded hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in the hotel for a very reasonable dinner, B&B rate on a Saturday night when picking up my son from University. The hotel has a lot of character and was once quite an imposing building. Whilst it retains much of its charm, the grandure is somewhat faded and the hotel could do with a "make-over." The staff were very helpful and the dining experience very good with prompt service and a good standard of cuisine. It's very handy for the University and all amenities in the centre of the city. The hotel was good value for money and given how handy it is for the university I would use it again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ijallen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    186
    98
    43
    28
See reviews for
71
154
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chadderton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Queens for 3 nights to celebrate a friend's birthday. Our room was large and clean with one huge bed and a single. The beds were comfortable and the room had 5 drawers to store your clothes. The wardrobe was unfortunately one of the 'front to back' variety, presumably to make room for the iron and ironing board stored at the side - useful for some. There was an excellent hospitality tray with Tetley Tea, Nescafe coffee and decaffeinated coffee and lovely shortbread fingers, restocked daily.
The hotel has free Wi-Fi, it worked better on the second floor than the third, but it was a useful addition to services.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast was excellent. The continental selection was the best I have seen in a British Hotel - slices of fresh fruit, cheeses and meats, pastries, croissants, cereals, tinned fruits, fruit juices etc. The owner, Mr Sneddon was on duty at breakfast nearly every day and was charming - nothing was too much trouble. There is a large cooked breakfast menu too including porridge of course and Arbroath Smokies.
We didn't eat lunch or dinner in the hotel, but some of our friends did and they recommended the food both for taste and price.
The drinks in the function room were very reasonably priced and there were plenty of bar staff to serve you. My only observation would be that they didn't bother to come out and collect glasses when they were not busy, but this could be a hotel policy, or maybe that as they were quite young, they didn't think that was part of their duties.
The buffet for the function was very nice with bot hot and cold food provided - everyone on my table enjoyed it and some went back for seconds!
The hotel is in a good location for the shops and Discovery Centre near the station - well worth a visit.
The reception staff were friendly and the dining room staff too.
I would stay in the Queens again without hesitation and heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view over the Tay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker7Chadderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel in good location, a few mins walk from Dundee town centre. The food in the restaurant tasty and good value for money. The room was very small, and the bed very uncomfortable., felt more like a single room rather than a double

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikiathome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I were just looking for a quiet night away and were glad we chose the Queens Hotel. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and a good size. Overall we could find no fault what so ever with the hotel, even the location was spot on. Will defo be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 933Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stopped in for a meal recently. Food was average. The staff went that extra mile to please.
Very comfortable lounge area and large car park to the rear.
I will probably return another time if only for the convenience of the hotel. The restaurant is very nice and I might be luckier with my choice of food next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARYANNT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had our Wedding at Queen's Hotel Dundee yesterday 27/04/13. Half of our family travelled up from Yorkshire & North Hamptonshire stayed and ate in the hotel as we did on the Wedding night as part of the 2013 wedding package. Gillian the wedding planner has been planning weddings and Corporate functions for many years and it shows. Her organisational skills and attention to detail trying to bring perfection to what is a very special day is second to none. The food was out of this world, We had 62 guests and the food & drinks were quickly served by a very efficient staff, nothing was too trouble. Everything ran very smoothly with Gillian keeping us right on the wedding protocal. All the staff were very freindly and eager to make our day everything we hoped for and more and they succeeded. It was nothing less than you would expect from a hotel owner with an events manager and staff that have worked as a team for many many years.

Our family and friends from England have all highly recommended Queens Hotel for their rooms, food staff & service with a definate promise of returning sometime soon. If you are thinking of having your wedding at Queens Hotel Dundee, would we recommend it as Bride and Groom. YES 5*****

Thankyou so much Gordon For making our day so special. I am sure I dont need to tell you just how fantastic all of your staff are we look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards to you and your staff from Stephen & Wilma Thorne

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have used this hotel on a number of occasions through Groupon and really enjoy it. Rooms are spacious and clean. Location is ideal as very central. Cars can be securely parked, and for no charge! Have always had breakfast and it has been good. Staff are friendly enough, although one in particular is always a bit snippy (same person each time, perhaps it's just their manner!) will be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelSavvy1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.6 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Address: Queens Hotel Buildings 160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing