We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely location dont pre pay dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely location dont pre pay dinner”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

lovely location we stayed with pet and as requested we got ground floor bed very small though dont book dinner as we pre paid but very littlle choice on dinner menu and could have saved money buying on site special menus breakfast good choice but things ran out and no urgency to replace eg scrambed egg seems popular with business people so probably not that importnat to them

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustangsuzy264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    168
    66
    25
    7
See reviews for
108
158
12
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at the Woodlands Hotel on 30th July 2010 for our friends wedding. Having booked online we paid £63 for one night.

We checked in straight away and stayed in the older part of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean with high ceilings and a older decor, it had character. The bathroom was new and pretty trendy.

The grounds to the hotel are stunning and the wedding was fantastic, what a perfect location.

We had an amazing time, just wished we could have stayed longer. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca11767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

First thing to mention is that this hotel, although highly rated as a Dundee hotel, is actually a few miles from the city centre. A 20-minute taxi ride - at around £10 - will take you to/from the city centre/railway station etc.

Saying that, unlike the city centre hotels, it is in a quiet area, situated in nearby Broughty Ferry, a commuter suburb of the city. It is also set in its own grounds with ample parking and no street noise.

Room was on the smallish side, not really enough room to open doors fully or cupboards and a shower but no bath. But it was smart, clean and well equipped with a very good double bed, wifi and a flat screen TV (no films and limited Sat channels).

Staff were plentiful, friendly and helpful from reception, through restaurant and bar.

Restaurant food was OK, a decent enough steak (which despite a supplement was not added to the fairly hefty £20 surcharge for a dinner inclusive rate).

All in all a good stay with a decent bill booked direct with Best Western online. Though if you do need access to the city and have no car add another £20 on for return taxi fares.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Our second stay here within two years was just as good an experience as the first time we stayed. Friendly efficient staff, great food in the restaurant and confortable bar to relax in. Ideal location for visiting Carnoustie or St. Andrews.
We had a spacious bedroom which could have been warmer but was still comfortable, overlooking the large car park, with a luxurious bed and flat screen TV.
Breakfast is a combination of fruit, cereals, pastries etc and a choice of cooked dish, be that a full Scottish or haddock and poached eggs etc.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Stayed for 9 nights with 5 other golfers. We played Carnoustie and 6 St. Andrews courses. The hotel was comfortable and clean and situated just 10 minutes from Carnoustie and 25 minutes from St. Andrews. Room rates
were much lower than St. Andrews and the location was much quieter without all the visiting golfers found in St. Andrews. The hotel restaurant was also open after 9.00pm for a late dinner. We found two excellent restaurants in Carnoustie; The Blue Marlin for seafood and the Station Hotel
for pub grub. I can recommend both without any qualms. The Blue Marlin
special ordered Dover Sole which was a highlight of our trip. Even having to play four rounds in a steady rain, the trip was great. We drove an hour and a half to Edinburgh for the Tattoo on Saturday night. The hotel offers free internet, but my Dell laptop couldn't see their router. Seems the problem only occurs with dell laptops. They did try to correct the problem, but failed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DailyMailUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Aong with my cousin and our spouses, we invited our 92-year-old aunt to the Woodlands for Sunday lunch. In the past, we have thoroughly enjoyed numerous such occasions at the nearby Taychreggan Hotel (see separate review), but our aunt, who likes nothing better than a nice meal out, fancied a change. Our 'welcome' at reception was symptomatic of the whole experience - as we walked up to the desk, the receptionist turned her back on us and went into a back office, from which we had to summon her for directions to the dining-room. This indifference was echoed when we asked a passing staff member (manager?) whether there was a Sunday roast on: he replied that he had no idea. Our waiter, however, was able to advise us that there was 'roast lamb with all the trimmings' which sounded so good that all five of us unhesitatingly ordered it.
Sadly, the meal fell far short of its description. A couple of slices of lukewarm lamb topped with a soggy, surely frozen, Yorkshire pudding and nestling in the hollow, a portion of frozen peas. The other vegetable component of the dish was three potatoes, halfway between boiled and roast, placed strategically around the plate in a small lake of gravy. The mint jelly we asked for turned out to be a dish of dried-out, almost black, mint sauce.
I read in one review that the hotel enjoys the services of an excellent chef. Unfortunately, Sunday must be his day off. In other circumstances we would have complained, but none of us wanted to cause embarrassment to our elderly aunt (who later in fact expressed great disappointment at the meal) , so we all just contented ourselves with the resolution that we will never grace the Woodland's doorstep again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leedsscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Very friendly staff and extremely helpful. Very nice atmosphere, very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampshirefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
4.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Property: Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Address: 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Woodlands Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#13 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing