We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star plus staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the weekend. The hotel is very nice. The bedrooms were not huge but adequate and fresh. The decoration in the rooms was modern and the bathroom consisted of a walk in shower with toilet and basin. It too was fresh and clean.`
The only thing that spoiled the sleep was the rock hard pillows.

We were room only and dined in the hotel for dinner and breakfast. The meals were very nice. We booked online and the breakfast was quoted as £7. Unfortunately this was an online price and we found that the charge was actually £10 as we had not booked before we arrived. This was not a problem as we found it to be well worth it, apart from the last morning when my husband had been unwell. He only had two Weetabix and a cup of coffee. The charge was £10. Saying that, we didn`t actually ask anyone if there was a reduced price for this.

The real bonus for the hotel was the staff. From the minute we stepped into the hotel we found very helpfully staff who couldn`t do enough to help. We felt quite at home. This was from the manager down to the waiters and cleaning staff.

The location of the hotel was disappointing. It would have been better if we had been a little closer to the centre of Broughty Ferry. A short stroll in the evening took us to the nearest garage and nothing much else. As we were travelling by car this was not a problem during the day.

In all we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roscaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were helpful, we strive to deliver excellent customer service and I will pass your comments onto all staff. With regards to your breakfast, you should have a reduced rate for a continental breakfast and I will be happy to refund the difference to you. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 559 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good quality room, spacious and bright. Staff very helpful, friendly and polite. Leisure facilities looked good but we forgot our swimsuits...a towel for the leisure centre was included in the room which was a thoughtful touch. The hotel is also conveniently located for visiting family in Broughty Ferry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank csjalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Your feedback is very important to us as we strive to improve our hotel. It is so nice to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had a pleasant couple of days with friends. The staff are all very friendly and could not have been more helpful There was a small glitch with our booking which I had used" booking.com "to arrange, however the lady at reception supplied us with complementary coffee.while she quickly sorted it out .Whilst there was no fault with the food I felt that the menu did not come up to the standard in other reviews.A bit of advice book breakfast in advance £7 If you purchase it after arriving £10 ( breakfast was excellent in choice and cooking but since we don't always eat a full breakfast we failed to book in advance.)

Room Tip: Don't go for 122 -- noisy if there is a function on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dopey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board and use them as a tool to improve our quality of product and service. I would always advise that when booking you contact ourselves directly as we can manage your booking personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I would recommend the Woodlands Hotel it is in a lovely setting in Broughty Ferry which is a very affluent suburb of Dundee. The hotel is well situated for great bars and restaurants and for long walks along the coast. The first thing about this place is it is spotless. I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel which is all the more remarkable as the hotel was completely full and had a wedding on both nights. The staff on reception were excellent with a good sense of humour. The decor in the room was a bit dated but that aside it was a great stay and I would certainly make a point of going back.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms with dark blue decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We aim to make every stay the best we can and every guest feel welcome. We appreciate all feedback and will be looking into updating some of our bedrooms shortly. I do hope we can welcome you back at our hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank paul_bell1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

When booking this hotel make sure you ask for a room in the new part of the building. We were given rooms in the original part of the hotel, there is no lift and our rooms were upstairs. I have lung cancer so found the stairs problematic however my sister and brother in law(both in their 70s) had been given a room in what must have been the attic. They had 2 further flights of stairs to conquer only to find a tiny room with sloping ceilings so small there was no room for a comfortable chair. Make sure you don't get rooms 133, 134, and 135. We all eventually were moved to ground floor rooms which were much superior. In its defence I must say the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was well cooked and presented. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and on Best Western site and I believe we have discussed the points you have raised. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

stayed here in the executive king suite, OMG amazing , they have just change it to a bedroom from a meeting room... you can swing a elephant in there .the bathroom u could probably bath the elephant too, massive roll bath & walk in shower, well done the woodlands..

breakfast was buffet , great just what you expect.... .

ohh swimming pool good, not really got a shallow bit for toddlers? but well just hold on to them, LOL

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piggie-pie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, although I do hope no one will try to swing an elephant in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
4.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
4.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Address: 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Woodlands Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Family Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $69 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing