We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bacon.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A favourite of mine for business stays. Good health club, reasonably modern in most rooms I have had with lots of dark wood in the bar and lounges, and very good bacon! Tucked out of sight surrounded by trees with pleasant staff. Location is good depending on your needs. It is out of the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 549 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank BFGBPaulMc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lovely staff, clean well presented rooms in which everything works. You couldn't ask for more for the price. The fitness suite is better than most at this level of hotel. Breakfast very helpful in getting bacon and sausages crisped up for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Kormeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed for 2 nights b and b. On the whole reasonable value for money. We had cleanliness issues with our room, as if it had been cleaned in a hurry, however we spoke to reception and this was resolved. Areas of hotel dated but generally clean. Pool area ok, but changing area and showers needing revamp. Good breakfast, omelette especially good.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank AndrewH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night after attending a function at another nearby hotel. Room was not what we expected, being much smaller than the ones shown on their website. Bathroom seemed to be out of proportion as it was very big, but the shower was tiny - so much so that it was impossible to have a shower without banging the walls. Plus side was the water pressure was good. On returning after our night out we were greeted by two very drunk people one of whom was trying to crawl up the stairs, the other who was trying to find the stairs to go up another level even though they were on the top floor - why they had just been served drinks in such a state I don't know!
The bedroom walls were very poorly soundproofed and we were woken up several times during the night by overhearing clearly conversations taking place in adjoining rooms. This coupled with very high room temperatures made for a very sleepless night, despite the bed being fairly comfy.
Breakfast was disappointing with a limited choice and with what seemed to be not very fresh or good quality food, much of which was cold. Eggs were offered to be freshly cooked on request but were. Cold by the time they arrived, pastries appeared to have been frozen and then defrosted but came out soggy and unappetising.
After breakfast we tried the spa and pool to which we had the use of. We did notice a sign saying no food or drink to be consumed, however this doesn't appear to apply to a staff member who appeared to be having breakfast. The pool itself was pleasant enough as were the steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. The shower area and changing rooms were a bit grubby and in need of a clean.
The hotel is located in a residential area of Brought Ferry and close to bus routes and has plenty of car parking available.
Not sure if I would stay here again if the same quality of room, service etc remained unchanged.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heliobiscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny Y, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. We always appreciate any comments regarding the Hotel and Service as it is the only way for me to address these issues. I have taken your comments on board and discussed these with the staff concerned and only hope that will return to Woodlands again.

Kind Regards

Nikki Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our second stay at The Woodlands. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Although we didn't use the leisure facilities they looked clean and well equipped. Breakfast was good and the service polite and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny Y, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Nikki Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nicely tucked off the highway in Broughty Ferry, this hotel seemed very welcoming from the minute we stepped into reception. Competent staff throughout the hotel added to an enjoyable stay.

There's a very good restaurant where we enjoyed dinner and then breakfast the next morning. There's a well equipped gym with a large pool. I would have liked it to open an hour before breakfast opened, rather than 30 minutes but that's a really minor niggle. The rooms are clean and comfortable and importantly for my mobility-challenged father, plenty of ground level rooms.

Lots of parking too.

We enjoyed our stay here and will vote with our feet and stay here again when next in Dundee.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank BruceFarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny Y, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. All comments are important to us and we appreciate your comments. We hope that you come back and visit us again soon
Kind Regards

Nikki Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
4.3 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel

Address: 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Woodlands Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#13 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $61 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing