We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

On a two night business trip I enjoyed comfortable accommodation with good food. The room was adequate for one person while the dining room commands views over the river Tay. It is conveniently situated for all visitor attraction and Botanic Gardens are close by. Staff were friendly and most helpful. Breakfast had an excellent selection of fruit. However on the breakfast menu they were offering "PORAGE"! What is that ? Or did they mean PORRIDGE? Please get that sorted. They surely have tourists staying and they should be encouraged to enjoy PORRIDGE.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that the staff looked after you.

Porridge can be spelt two ways. We use the traditional spelling of Porage which is used on "Scot's Porage Oats".

I hope this helps.

Kind regards

Martina Whiting
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    167
    62
    20
    10
See reviews for
94
121
26
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coldingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was, warm and friendly, food both at breakfast and in evening was superb! Plenty of choice at both for the light and hearty eater. All staff very helpful and friendly. A brisk walk takes about half an hour to get into the town centre of Dundee and the Botanical Gardens are within a stones throw of the hotel. Room was well equipped with iron and board usual complimentary tea coffee and biscuits and hair-dryer replenished daily. Ample wardrobe space and hangers for the longer stayer. Large bathroom and complimentary soaps. All in all a lovely short break for 2 weary hard working people.

Room Tip: With the windows open Room 107 was noisy in the mornings as deliveries were being made. With windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Fiona

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you need a break from work.

Kind regards

Martina Whiting
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights this week. Hotel room was very clean with a HUGE and very comfy bed. Staff were all very pleasant. Great choice for breakfast. The best and tastiest fruit selection we have ever seen in a hotel. We have stayed at a couple of hotels in Dundee area including Best Western Queens but preferred the Invercarse and would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandSunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back the
next time you visit Dundee
Kind Regards
Martina Whiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have stayed at the Invercarse on several previous occasions normally when attending functions. On this occasion we received the same warm welcome from reception staff and were quickly allocated a nice large room on the ground floor. The room was clean and functional however would have benefited from an additional chair and some drinking water on the hospitality tray. All staff were their normal friendly helpful self, good service at the bar, and a special mention for the young waitress serving breakfast on her own in the restaurant, she could not do enough to help even when faced with multi simultaneous requests from guests.As stated by previous reviewer(s) some areas are perhaps showing signs of requiring a bit of an upgrade however the room we were in was perfectly serviceable and we will be delighted to return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the reception side of the hotel as those facing the car park can be noisy when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longforganlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thankyou for your feedback.
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
The staff will appreciate your comments regarding their service.
I take on board your comments regarding the room.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the city
Kind Regards
Martina Whiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here and it was the best day of our lives!!!
The service we received was second to known. Nothing was a problem.
Everything went without a hitch and this was done to the staff in the invercarse. They were outstanding.
Food was lovely as always.
Breakfast I the morning was excellent.
Our room was lovely!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank clarkie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel was nice, but could do with a little updating. It was quiet, so sleep was not a problem. It is located on the outskirts of the city, in a pretty convo enemy location, but there's not too much within walking distance.

The staff here are the best asset, they were extremely friendly and helpful.

The food in the restaurant was not bad. I went for the duck for dinner. Normally duck is served either rare, or crispy. I like it cooked both ways, but this was neither and was not great. Everything else was fine though.

The room was comfortable and clean, but a little dated.

Overall not bad, but room for improvement.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, General Manager at Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Bob,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I’m pleased that there were aspects of your stay that you enjoyed especially the staff’s performance.

Your comments have been taken on board regarding your Dinner and room.

Thank you again for your points as it does allow us to improve our standards.

Kind regards

Martina Whiting
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Fantastically friendly staff, great location, clean and quite quaint.
Twin room was perfect - taking daughter to a university interview.
Bar pleasant and welcoming.
Breakfast was great.
But the staff were fantastic and the hotel should be proud of their attentive service.
Dundee was unexpectedly lovely - we are going back in tourist mode this summer and will be using this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKidd, Manager at Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I’m pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Invercarse. The staff will appreciate your comments.

We look forward to seeing you during your Summer Holiday.

Kind regards

Martina Whiting
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel

Property: Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Address: 371 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1PG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Invercarse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel is situated in Dundee's West End, and overlooks the River Tay. All bedrooms have free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with satellite viewing. Flanked by Californian Redwood Trees, the Redwood Restaurant and lounge bar are renowned for imaginative use of local produce and original menu choice. The dining room overlooks mature gardens with aspects toward the river and the lounge bar is relaxed and informal. The hotel's Ballroom is a popular setting for weddings during the summer months and hosts conferences throughout the year. Smaller rooms are available for hire to use as meeting rooms or private functions. There is ample off street FREE parking for approx. 120 Cars. Complimentary use of leisure facilities can be used at our sister hotel The Best Western Woodlands Hotel, situated in Broughty Ferry, Dundee. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Dundee, and is ideally situated for both leisure and business trips. The cultural quarter of the city is within walking distance, as one of Scotland's largest developing cities, Dundee boasts excellent transport links, the airport, which has regular scheduled flights with Flybe to Stanstead Airport is a few minutes' drive from the hotel and the train station puts any major city within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing