We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-fashioned and a bit tatty - but very friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned and a bit tatty - but very friendly hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've had the pleasure to stay at the Invercarse on a number of occasions over the past few years as my Company uses the hotel for staff needing accommodation in Dundee. I've always very much enjoyed my stays, the major factor being very friendly and good fun staff, a great bar and highly acceptable food which is always welcome after a long day.

There is a 'however' side to this review though, and it is sad that the rooms and general amenity of the hotel is in dire need of a serious update. The rooms are comfortable enough, but suffer from outdated decor and mediocre bathrooms. The shower in my room last week was just dreadful - it seemed to dribble water at a frighteningly slow pace, and is just not even adequate in this day and age. I expect a hotel shower to drill holes in my skull to wake me up in the morning, but unfortunately at the Invercarse you need to rise 30 minutes earlier than planned to allow the bath to fill from the equally paltry bath taps.

I've had this problem in rooms on both floors - so the shower issue is consistent throughout!

So, with an upgrade of the bathroom facilities and a modern decor this would be a smashing hotel - as it is it is good, has the heart and soul, but not the facilities which are expected and offered. Premier Inn bedrooms are of a far, far higher standard, but we return regularly to the Invercarse for the overall experience which is very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    164
    62
    20
    10
See reviews for
91
119
26
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
doncater
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

An impromptu family gathering from all corners of the globe meant a last minute reservation for lunch for a party of 11 adults and 2 kids.
From the time of arrival the staff were excellent and very efficient and friendly. Lunch menu was varied, many dishes with a Scottish twist. All food was perfectly cooked and thoughtfully presented,even catering for a dairy allergy.
Top marks to the hotel and staff for making lunch special. We will make a return visit the next time we get to Dundee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markY462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked this hotel for our wedding. Stayed over the night before in a double room and the night of the wedding in the honeymoon suite. Both rooms were fantastic. Spacious, modern, comfortable and above all spotlessly clean. Also had a lot of family and friends of all ages stay in the hotel that weekend. Every single person was impressed with their room. Over the whole weekend I did not hear a single complaint about the hotel.
Breakfast both mornings was delicious.
Meals in the restaurant and function suite were first class, looked and tasted amazing and really good value for money.
Staff were at all times friendly and polite and they went out of their way to make people feel welcome.
As a lot of people were staying there because the wedding was there I was worried that any problems would reflect on me as well as the hotel, but, thankfully that was a needless worry as the hotel were amazing. I could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moers
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted well. On asking if we could get some lunch we were told the closing time of the retaurant was in a few minutes, but if we wanted to leave our luggage at reception we could go straight through. The restaurant staff were very accomodating, friendly and the food served was very good.

breakfast and evening dining was excellent. I'd stay there again if ever in or around Dundee.

Room Tip: We stayed the far end of the ground floor rooms, very quiet, clean but a pain to get to if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good hotel. Clean and well presented. Food is top notch albeit a bit pricey. I think i got one the best rooms...big king size bed. Yes the shower is a bit limp compared to other hotels but it did it's job quickly enough. Breakfast was good with thick bacon and door stop black pudding. All staff are smart and very helpful and friendly. I'll be coming back here again and you will too once you've tried the other dire hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the ballroom which is used for weddings...can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as we had been to a good family wedding here. We will not come back. The room is nothing like the photos on the website. The reception staff were not helpful and did not even tell us how to get our cases in, let alone help. The rooms are all off a narrow corridor with several steps every few feet.
The room overlooks the carpark. The net curtains were dirty and the towels were stained.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamishandpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Short business stay at this hotel. fairly basic hotel but did the job. Rooms are quite nice and bathroom ok aswell. Nice shower.
Breakfast was very good. Nice choice. View from the breakfast room is cool.
No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
2.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel

Property: Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Address: 371 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1PG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Invercarse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dundee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel is situated in Dundee's West End, and overlooks the River Tay. All bedrooms have free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with satellite viewing. Flanked by Californian Redwood Trees, the Redwood Restaurant and lounge bar are renowned for imaginative use of local produce and original menu choice. The dining room overlooks mature gardens with aspects toward the river and the lounge bar is relaxed and informal. The hotel's Ballroom is a popular setting for weddings during the summer months and hosts conferences throughout the year. Smaller rooms are available for hire to use as meeting rooms or private functions. There is ample off street FREE parking for approx. 120 Cars. Complimentary use of leisure facilities can be used at our sister hotel The Best Western Woodlands Hotel, situated in Broughty Ferry, Dundee. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Dundee, and is ideally situated for both leisure and business trips. The cultural quarter of the city is within walking distance, as one of Scotland's largest developing cities, Dundee boasts excellent transport links, the airport, which has regular scheduled flights with Flybe to Stanstead Airport is a few minutes' drive from the hotel and the train station puts any major city within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing