We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Short business stay at this hotel. fairly basic hotel but did the job. Rooms are quite nice and bathroom ok aswell. Nice shower.
Breakfast was very good. Nice choice. View from the breakfast room is cool.
No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    171
    66
    20
    10
See reviews for
97
128
26
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Attended a family wedding at this hotel and despite living in Dundee opted to stay the night in the hotel. Beds were extremely comfortable, best nights sleep in a hotel ever (normally I can't sleep in strange beds). Rooms are spacious and breakfast was excellent especially the black pudding. Staff at hotel were all friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Only reason I have not marked as 5 is because I had to come home to have a shower, my husband had a shower and in his words it was a work out he had to run around the shower to get wet. Other relatives that also stayed at the hotel had similar issues with the shower with one taking 20minutes to get the shampoo out of their hair as the shower was little more than a trickle. Overall excellent night away, would have no hesitation in returning or recommending.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here recently on business and the staff were excellent. My stay ended up being longer than I anticipated and despite the hotel being fully booked for my final night, I fortunate to be given a cancellation; however I was required to change rooms.

The issue of changing rooms was made worse as I was working nights, however the staff ensured I was given extra time in the original room and that the second room was ready as soon as I woke. This may not seem like a great deal of hassle for a hotel, but I've stayed in places where you are woken at 10am despite hanging the "do not desturb" signs and been rebuffed when requesting an additional hour in bed, so this was a great help.

Both rooms were clean, bright and tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and black out curtains which for someone trying to sleep through the day was a bonus. That coupled with free wi-fi available ensured that I had an excellent stay.

I had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and both were a good standard. Breakfast came with pleny of coffee and the menu choice was varied and a reasonable price.

I am likely to return to the area on many occasions in the future and would be more than happy to stay in the Invercarse again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchmithie ,Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

After not being to this Hotel for some time , we went for an evening meal , to find it is just as good as it was before . The dining area has a lovely atmoshpere with very attentive staff . The main course was very tasty with lovely flavours in each mouthful . The sweet was exceptional . The coffee actually tasted like coffee & not like some establishments coloured water . Well worth a trip down to Dundee . Hope it will not be so long until our next visit .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnieegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very efficient and wecoming check in.
Bedrooms are in a typical hotel block- our room was what i would call a large size double which was nicely decorated. We glimpsed other rooms which seemed to vary in size - a single did appear small. The access corridor on the first floor did contain a number of short flight stairs (4 or 5 risers at each)
Our room was clean and well serviced. We did overhear someone complain that some "machinery" awoke them at 5.30am with the noise continuing beyond breakfast time.

Breakfast was very good with good service. Dinner was also very good with a vegitarian choice as standard. Service was by efficient, friendly staff although we did on two occassions witness a little too bureaucratic behavior by a waitress and barman.

check out again was efficient but we did hear of two parties of guests being overcharged - so check your account before you leave.

Having said all of that we do recommend the hotel - as someone else reported - it does what it says on the tin!

Room Tip: If you can manage stairs try 124,125,126,127.,128
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

. . . And excellent duck!
Our second stay, service and food better than before.
Helpful service, but one receptionist needs to manage her tone of voice and learn to smile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turn left at mars
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Spent a one night saty on a business trip.
Hotel as close as you can get to the airport, friendly and helpful staff, food was rather good, room was showing some signs age, but was very clean. I would recommend this to friends and family

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
2.4 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
1.9 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel

Property: Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel
Address: 371 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1PG, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Invercarse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dundee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#8 Family Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel is situated in Dundee's West End, and overlooks the River Tay. All bedrooms have free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with satellite viewing. Flanked by Californian Redwood Trees, the Redwood Restaurant and lounge bar are renowned for imaginative use of local produce and original menu choice. The dining room overlooks mature gardens with aspects toward the river and the lounge bar is relaxed and informal. The hotel's Ballroom is a popular setting for weddings during the summer months and hosts conferences throughout the year. Smaller rooms are available for hire to use as meeting rooms or private functions. There is ample off street FREE parking for approx. 120 Cars. Complimentary use of leisure facilities can be used at our sister hotel The Best Western Woodlands Hotel, situated in Broughty Ferry, Dundee. The hotel is only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Dundee, and is ideally situated for both leisure and business trips. The cultural quarter of the city is within walking distance, as one of Scotland's largest developing cities, Dundee boasts excellent transport links, the airport, which has regular scheduled flights with Flybe to Stanstead Airport is a few minutes' drive from the hotel and the train station puts any major city within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee Invercarse Hotel Scotland
Dundee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing