We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal location,very good service by a very attentive staff supervised in a very effecient manner by pam the manageress” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigtay Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Craigtay Hotel
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
saltash
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ideal location,very good service by a very attentive staff supervised in a very effecient manner by pam the manageress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

rooms clean and presentable, restuarant well laid out along with the bar all in all a very nice set up in an ideal location, to cap it of all a wonderful welcome when we arrived which means such a lot at the start of a visit..
we are due to return on the first Sat Dec and look forward to more of the same, looking forward to seeing all the staff on our return the "buffs" party from Cornwall

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltashpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    15
    14
    43
See reviews for
18
34
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

On first impressions it looked ok for what we required as a group of 26 golfers, in reality it is trying to live up to something it is not and that is upper end of the local market. We arrived to find all the rooms mixed up with who was sharing after Pam (who was excellent) explained this was forgiven then after travelling for over 15 hours some of us could not take a shower as there was no towels. the first night the beer was off (sour) and we asked for this to be changed, the following night it was still the same this was brought to the owners attention who assured us it had been changed, you could smell how bad it was he was very reluctant to change the bought drinks and actually walked off mid conversation. The prices escalated throughout the weekend (or appeared to) up to £3.80p per pint which is very expensive. Breakfast finished on the dot no lee way given the rooms where a little dated even though they looked as though they had been freshened up. some of the satff were very sullen including the Manager who was very rude the exception being Pam and Shona all in all a very poor experience and one we will not repeat in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePaulR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dundee hotels

south yorkshire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

no towels when we arrived .the bar price for drinks got dearer and dearer for the same drink. one of our party had his room changed without being told there was 26 in our party and not one had a good word for this hotel infact they was glad to leave it realy spoilt our weakend

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthYorkshireRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at this hotel after booking their unbelievableoffer of £59 for dinner for two with free overnight accommodation. The food in the new Aubergine restaurant was some of the best we've ever had. The room was small but comfortable with TV and tea and coffee facilities. The full Scottish breakfast next morning was excellent. It's true that the hotel is not luxury but it has a good location for visiting Dundee and the area, plenty of parking and very friendly staff. We enjoyed it so much that we will definitely go back for the great food.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Must admit that I approached my 3 night stay here with more than a little trepidation after reading some of the scathing reviews on Trip Advisor. However it was much better than expected and I think the management must be trying to update the hotel.

Firstly the bad points. There was no wireless internet connection in either of the rooms offered to me, but I could get a signal in some of the public areas.

The location isnt brilliant, with rooms either overlooking the main Dundee to Broughty Ferry road at the front or over an industrial works to the rear

Good points. The food!. Excellent quality food in the restaurant. All freshly made by a chef who knows his stuff. Try the wild mushroom and truffle risotto. It is sensational and a bargain for around £8. Front of house is well managed too and service is what you would expect in a very good contineltal restaurant.

The room I stopped in was spotless and cleaned daily. Tea / coffe making facilities, bisuits too. Trouser press, toiletries, hair dryer, tv and ample hanging space.

Breakfast was good, but when I stopped, the smoked salmon / croissant options were not available.

The hotel would appear to have been redecorated recently so looks fresh internally and ALL staff i met could speak perfect English.

My employers booked this hotel through late rooms.com and it was very very cheap. If you need a base near Dundee for a couple of nights, this could be just the place

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastkilbride
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

colin mcmillan east kilbride glasgow enjoyed staying here and will be back staff are excellent shona peter pam all very friendly and cant do enough for you food diffrent class cant talk the food up highly enough

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colzo1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

We are a not for profit charity and it cost us twice as much because we had to relocate an other hotel. This hotel took a disabled booking knowing full well they did not have the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowJimmy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.5 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#29 of 31 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
5.2 mi away
Panmure Hotel
Panmure Hotel
#27 of 31 in Dundee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.5 mi away
West Park
West Park
#28 of 31 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigtay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigtay Hotel

Property: Craigtay Hotel
Address: 101 Broughty Ferry Road, Dundee DD4 6JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Craigtay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Craigtay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigtay Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing