We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
Review of Craigtay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craigtay Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Scotland
1 review
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

The hotel was dirty and dated. My room was clean. Young girl named Kerry was very helpful, she helped us with everything even sorted out extra cups and teabags for our room. Could not understand a word that the other staff were staying. Would never stay there again. Think the young girl deserves to be promoted. If you are planning on staying here ask her for anything you need as the other staff are not very welcoming or helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnhappyGuestScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigtayManagement, Hotel manager at Craigtay Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2009
Thank you for the kind ratings in the review.
As this proves, our hotel has good quality clean rooms and helpful staff, all which are trained and all speak fluent English. I trust that all our guests will find that we are a friendly place looking after our customers well, and we guarantee they will understand every word we are saying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    16
    14
    43
See reviews for
18
34
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2009

i have been a few times here on business trips and it worked every time. Got a good deal through Laterooms for 37 pounds a night and an early breakfast as well. The girl at the reception got me an upgrade to a double room just like that! They serve the best haggis and the whisky sauce was just amazing. Nice friendly people as well, and very helpful. i know it's a bit old and dated but it's good value for money, nice clean rooms and a warm welcome.

  • Liked — the food and service
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ramblerboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Chose to try this Hotel while in Dundee on this visit and found it of excellent value, food was plain but delicious and nicely presented. Staff are very friendly and the place is spotlessly clean.

  • Liked — friendly staff, good food and cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BusinessGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2009

I have stayed in many B&Bs and Hotels all over the world and this is the worst.,I kid you not. It is dirty, tacky, decor is from the 60s. Couldnt believe it didnt have a shower. .I stayed 2nights paid for inadvanceThe room was not attended too in between the days stay Beds not made ,bathroom not cleaned nor towels replaced ,refreshments not refilled in room.. Remote for the TV was taped upand failed many times. Had to look for someone at breakfast time.Never again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — No shower
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We booked via laterooms.com, after reading some decent reviews. We don't normally go to 2 star hotels but this one seemed ok. Sadly this couldn't be further from the truth. The noise travelled everywhere! We were sent up 2 flights of dodgy old stairs to a room which was old, tatty and most uncomfortable. The bed's matress was rock hard. The decor was at least 30 yrs old, with depressing green walls and liquid stains! Cleanliness was obviously not a priority with stains around the toilet and shower. Had I not already paid, I would have left immediately. I did survive the night, but would not recommend this supposed 'hotel' to anyone.

  • Liked — Difficult to find a positive
  • Disliked — All aspects
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Upon check in the staff member was unable to direct us into town.
We were informed upon check in that there may be problems using the swipe key to enter the hotel, but that there was a party going on until early hours, so assistance was available in the function room. Otherwise we could use the intercom to the right of the door. When we returned the keys did not work, there was no party, and the intercom had been smashed. We were forced to sleep in the car. I tried to phone the hotel and it advised me to call back later. I am appalled that the telephone system does not divert to the owners or a live-in/near staff member.
Upon checkout there was no one at the front desk nor in the restaurant area. I was unable to find any staff member to even make my complaint, despite the hotel signage stating the breakfast opening times. I am disgusted by the the service provided in this hotel.
The en-suite was dirty, with a carpeted bathroom, most unhygienic. You are not guaranteed a shower, we were lucky we managed to swap with another yet to arrive. The shower had hairs left from previous guest. Decor is very poor and dated.
The adjoining rooms are noisy and even footsteps are easily heard.
This is by far the worst hotel I have ever experienced. The reply email from the owner was basically a brush off, showing they take very little responsibility or interest in the welfare of their customer service and image.
My advice would be to avoid this hotel at all costs, there are over 30 hotels in Dundee, many of which providing far superior service.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jiggers1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.5 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#27 of 28 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#20 of 28 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
2.8 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigtay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigtay Hotel

Property: Craigtay Hotel
Address: 101 Broughty Ferry Road, Dundee DD4 6JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Craigtay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Craigtay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigtay Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing