We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“mixed reaction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Craigtay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craigtay Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Dundee
Dundee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“mixed reaction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We bought a steak meal for 4 off groupon, we have been told this restaurant was great by other locals and this was my Birthday. The staff (two waitresses) were very nice & friendly but service from the kitchen was really slow.. we seemed to wait ages for the main meal and the desserts took even longer (we order 2 desserts btw) at which point the waitress came over, apologised and gave us shortbread! Nice touch but how long does it take to put a piece of cake & an ice cream out?

The restaurant, when we arrived, had one table of 3, we had a table of 4 and during the time we were there one table of 2 came and went and one table of 1 arrived - so the kitchen was not exactly rushed off it's feet.. our meals were okay, the salads had a nice dressing but the steaks were the skiniest I have ever seen.. mine, ordered as 'medium-rare' was grey (not pink) and the others, ordered as well done, were dry.

Overall the staff were great - really nice, the restuarant was not rushed but pleasant, but the food we ordered was not worth the prices stated on the menu. There are other places in Dundee city centre (child friendly) and Broughty Ferry and, even if you paid a taxi there & back you'd still be better off than going to this place.

Not impressed with the food (it was nice but, without the groupon, overpriced) and it was skimpy & overcooked - not impressed with the kitchen service either - we actually wondered if the chef had gone to asda to pick up food as it was ordered tbh - really slow..

bit of a shame, really.. staff were pleasant, the food was ok, steak was seasoned nicely but skinny & over cooked.. would we go back? No (even with the £5 off voucher we were given) - we'd rather have a decent meal at a decent price and that means a restaurant or pub down the town...

decent food but very over priced

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    15
    14
    43
See reviews for
18
34
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I bought a steak dinner from Groupon £15 for the two of us at the craigtay hotel (hungry marys). We arrived at 6pm to find we were the only ones in the restaurant we were shown to our table by a very polite well mannered waiter who took our coats and hung them up. A large booking turned up and they had a large table in the next area to us so we didn't feel so lonely. I had a lovely bowl of tomato soup to start with it was delicious followed by a sirloin steak served with a nice salad, mushrooms, grilled tomato and good helping of chips. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal and our waitress was so nice and very attentive, which we appreciated as sometimes when you dine with a groupon voucher you are treated appallingly.
We could not fault our meal or the service we very very pleased and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varmahlid, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

we stayed two nights in this hotel, found at the last minute on bookings.com
This is an average but clean two stars hotel with rather old furnitures, old painted walls and noisy floor. However the beds were ok and we had a confortable sleep. Staff was helpful and polite, and breakfast was average.
expensive for what it is but I will blame it at myself for booking a day in advance.

Hotel is located about 15 minutes walk off the city center. Taxi ride is about 5 to 7 pounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very disappointed I had a issue with my room which on first impressions seemed OK however during my stay there was a major issues which meant I was unable stay in the room so I requested a different room this was very speedily arranged for me. Breakfast was terrible undercooked porridge which is not acceptable for Scotland. On checking out a very polite man said that he would ensure the Manager would write to me with regards to my complaint due to severity of the complaint. To date no letter has been received.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited for lunch with friends. Welcomed very warmly at the door and ushered to a lovely dining area - spacious and well presented. Two of us had soups (different) - clearly home made - tasty and hot served with hot french bread and butter one had pudding - disappeared very quickly! In between we had 3 different mains - all well received. Fish very fresh steak pie home made good portion sizes. A range of options available from quality "pub grub" to chargrills burgers and more. Something for everyone. Good quality coffee - would have been nice to have a mint or tablet or similar with coffee but that is just me!

Afternoon and high teas available in addition to lunches and evening meals and light bites. Also have themed evenings eg steak night and weekday lunch offers. We intend to go back to sample one or more of these.

Prices very reasonable especially if you go outwith the weekend - although Sunday roast seems very good value for money. Some mains are offered at 2 for £10.

Service excellent. Will be returning and would definitely reccomend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avrilritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, NW Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights while doing some work at harbour.

It is a typical travelling salesman type hotel. It has what some may call "character", it has creaky floors, dated furniture. I must have had the same room as a previous reviewer as I found the hole in the floor under the carpet in the bathroom (who carpets bathrooms!)

However, it was reasonably clean, the sleep was fine, tea/coffee in the room, meals in the evening were bar style food. Breakfast was fine full Scottish (cereals etc available), and porrage if you ask.

From previous reviews, there appears to have been a change in management within the last few months. I found the staff friendly and attentive, the place is getting a lick of paint, and I think previous bad reviews have to take into account these changes as it is no longer the same hotel.

A good place for a reasonable middle of the road stay if you just want a quiet pint at night, some food and a bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARealHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a meal in here last Sunday. Didn't know what to expect but was not dissapointed.
Lovely dinning room, tables not all crammed together like your sitting on someones lap like in some places. I think it has recently been taken over so i can't compare what it was like before.

Prices are reasonable, same as what you would pay in a pub, service was good and the meals were also good, {steak pie, Fish n chips}
Will definitley visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank highlandflingDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.5 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#28 of 32 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#20 of 32 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 32 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigtay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigtay Hotel

Property: Craigtay Hotel
Address: 101 Broughty Ferry Road, Dundee DD4 6JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Craigtay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Craigtay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigtay Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing