We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class Meal”
Review of The Riverside Inn

The Riverside Inn
Ranked #71 of 380 Restaurants in Dundee
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on Riverside Drive right next to the River Tay and Dundee Airport your sure to be impressed with the stunning views and the excitement of being right next to the runway.We’d like you to leave The Riverside Inn with a smile on your face and while that’s usually down to the company you’re with, we’d like to think our friendly service, delicious food, convivial atmosphere and warm welcome can help make any occasion special.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“1st Class Meal”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I visited the Riverside Inn yesterday with my husband and son. I have to say, the service was perfect and the meal was fantastic!!! Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheonagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    215
    123
    102
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Decided last minute to go for a meal at the riverside inn. We got seated straight away at the kids bit which was great because we were able to watch our young kids play. The drinks were served straight away but we had to wait a while for our mains. Once I sat down to eat lasagne which didn't look apealing at all I could hardly cut through the edge of it. It was like a micro meal over cook but I still tried to eat it which was a big mistake bi sent it back and got a burger instead. Once I got home I started feeling ill and this morning I was vomiting and couldnt get off the toilet. There is no chance I will be going back there for a meal again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Waiting time too long”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been to the Rverside a few times and it is usually ok and we have had some nice meals there. Was disappointed on Wed 16 October by the level of service. We booked a table for 5.30. Arrived and the place was not too busy - that was why we came early and had booked a table because we have had to wait for a table in the past.. We had a simple sharing starter that arrived in good time. However, it was another 50 minutes before we got our main course. Waitress was very nice but that is not the point. It was getting busier as we left but they need to get their-selves a bit better organised as it spoiled an otherwise nice we meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PollyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Really nice decor, good food and the staff are nice. The food however is a little over priced. Seating area is nice and there is a play area of kids

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideInnDundee, Manager at The Riverside Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write us a review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and i decided to go here after hearing from family members that it was good. We have dined in many different restaurants and have had some vad meals but never felt the need to actually complain or make a fuss. However on this occasion we did. We didnt book and the place was quite busy. We were told we would have to wait 10 mins for a table which we were happy to do altho on a short timescale as we had plans in the evening. We had no longer sat down than our table was ready and the waitress we had was very friendly. However we had to wait a long time to order. Our starters came out quickly but we had to wait over half an hour for our mains. The waitress came over and apologised for the wait. When we got our mains we were very disappointed my mushroom pasta was clearly a canned mushroom sauce and tasted like sick. Needless to say i couldnt eat it. The waitress was very helpful and gave us complimentary vouchers for £5.00 for our next visit. However as nice as this was of her we will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoë G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiversideInnDundee, Manager at The Riverside Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us,i am really sorry we disapointed on this occasion,we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Inn also viewed

 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing