We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive menu, shame about the service”

Gourdie Croft Beefeater
Ranked #245 of 382 Restaurants in Dundee
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impressive menu, shame about the service”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Visited today for lunch, food was excellent and well presented. They have a very impressive children's menu and even a menu for tiny tots. My seven year old greatly enjoyed his pizza and for once cleared his plate. The service, however, spoiled our visit. The man who greeted after we had stood for a minute wondering whether we needed to wait to be seated (you don't) was friendly and helpful but the bar maid who took our food order did not manage to raise a smile the whole time we were there. Everything seemed to be a bother to her and simple requests (like asking for condiments) were met with a blank face before she walked away leaving us wondering whether we'd get our tomato ketchup (we did, without a smile). Might go back on the off chance that we get a different shift or she was just having a very bad day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    96
    76
    60
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bar Food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This bar has improved greatly food service and surroundings ideal for a weekday tea and restaurant great for weekend and special occassions

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Milnes45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

If staying at the Premier Inn Kingsway West then this is an excellent place to eat. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the food is excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottish borders
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stopped off here for meal on our way back from a weekend in Aberdeen. The restaurant was very busy but we were taken to a table right away and a drinks order was taken. We both chose sirloin steaks which were cooked to perfection. The only downside for us was the occasional screaming from children! Also, I will never understand why very young children are allowed to run unsupervised through restaurants where the staff are carrying hot meals. That seems to be a recipe for disaster and I think there is an onus on the management do do something about it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romagScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food Good”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Really enjoyed the food - good value for money however the staff could have been more attentive - when we walked in there were 3 waitresses standing chatting and we were looking around like do we just sit down or do you have to wait to be seated? where do you sit the bar or the restaurant? after a few minutes of the staff chatting we were seated - we visited on a sunday and werent told when giving our menu about sunday dinnder option we had to ask. but on average a nice visit and meal

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stac1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourdie Croft Beefeater also viewed

 

Been to Gourdie Croft Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing