We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“update after latest visit- very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tally's Bar & Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tally's Bar & Kitchen
Cuisines: Bar, British
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“update after latest visit- very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

big let down, things seem to be microwaved. defo not home made food anymore. wont be going back anytime soon. if you read my last review you will see my opinion has changed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Issy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Typical pub food popullar with students.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Managed the burger stack which was calorie laden but tasty but menu is limited. Noisy with music and sport on tv

Helpful?
Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“Very bizarre and not too great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Recently ventured back to Tally's after my friends decided we were coming here for dinner.

How I wish I had convinced them to go elsewhere.

On arrival, we had to hang about a while being ignored by the staff, until we went to find a table off our own back. Once seated, we waited quite some time without acknowledgement until I went to the bar to ask for menu's. This must have taken about 20 minutes. Then we were a further 15 until someone asked what we would like to drink.

The menu itself looks ok and is quite cheaply priced. However, this is reflected in the quality of the food. We ordered an arrangement of starters and mains between the 6 of us. There was again quite a considerable wait between drinks, ordering and service. And then there were the inconsistencies. One of the party had the burger. It came with a piece of lettuce. That was it. We had to ask if maybe we could receive salad, as stated, and the waiter brought back a bowl full of onion. Odd.

The food itself was hit and miss. Some dishes were ok....some were just terrible. We even spied frozen chips and other boxes of frozen things laid out for a while on the kitchen counter. Ugh.

Once we were finished, you've guessed it, a major wait for further acknowledgement. And when the waitress came to take our plates away, she plonked a bill down. We weren't even asked if we wanted a look at the dessert menu! It was almost as if after the vast periods of time we were kept waiting, once we had ate something we could p**s off!!

No goodbye or thank you, just lacklustre service really. We went to DCA to get dessert, with each of us vowing never to waste our time or money in this poor "restaurant" again.

And to make matters worse, we were the only customers.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Lola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“I've always had a good meal here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

It's fresh, good, menu is varied, reasonable price, consistent, staff attentive and has a good atmosphere (mid week- the times I've eaten in it).

I haven't eaten here in a while, but will be back...so here's hoping you're still as good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith6Stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delisious food,fab prices, just as good as the very expensive restaruants serving the same food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

If u enjoy foods from the Med you will love this. I can recommend the meze starter to share for 4.95 lovely and the iskenderoni 7.95 is one of the best in town. Lots to choose from at really good prices they also serve burgers and paninis for the more traditional dinner. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Issy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tally's Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing