We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop for a coffee on your walk”

Bridgeview Station Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 376 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Set on Dundee’s prominent waterfront and housed within an iconic Victorian railway station, Bridgeview Station Café-restaurant boasts unparalleled panoramic views over the Tay estuary and aims to set a new standard for casual dining within the city. Nominated for two Architectural awards, Bridgeview Station was based on the original design of Dundee’s old Magdalen Green Railway Station and was constructed over 6 years with no expense spared, using local skilled tradesmen.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good place to stop for a coffee on your walk”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Never thought about popping in here but glad I did - only stopped for coffee and cakes but quite impressed by the setup - excellent strong robusta coffee and no hesitation with my usual machiatto double, water offered and decent selection of home made cakes.

Service was very friendly, natural and welcoming - lots of tourists in residence when I stopped by (is Dundee finally getting to be a tourist destination?, lots of Spanish & Portuguese spoken) -

All in all a good stop for refreshments and a break - the outside is just on your doorstep....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BullThistleFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    259
    65
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Alll Eight of Us Were Happy”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Selected this restaurant for a family get-together based on the Tripadvisor ratings and comments. We were all well pleased with our food and experience. The food was excellent and well presented, and the service was also good.

As another reviewer commented, the lack of soft furnishing did result in a noisy environment; it isn't conducive for a quiet chat.

The restaurant's location overlooking the Tay Estuary has great views and is close to a riverside walk.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Evening meal.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Restaurant is nicely set up and in an excellent situation with views of the bridge and the river. With few soft furnishings I think it could be noisy when busy, quiet this evening.

Service was pleasant and efficient. My starter of goats cheese souffle with curried cauliflower was very good. We both had haddock and chips which were OK but we would not repeat; a lot of batter on the fish and the chips were poor. Good home made tartar sauce. Served in a wire chip pan style basket - not so easy to eat out of. Husband's cranachan was rated "nice". 2 courses each plus soft drinks £35.00

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank exzombaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Delicious food,beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This funky restaurant has a glorious view of the Tay Bridge. Classy decor, and pleasant music give a good atmosphere. We went for a light lunch and were very impressed with the menu. The cheese soufflé was tasty with a pretty peashoot salad. The burger was cooked to your taste and beautifully presented. The service needs sharpening but this is a lovely venue. Go there and savour the fine cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We went along around 3.30 and had a late lunch
Decided on the burger with hand cut chips we were assured by the menu that these would take some time as they would be made especially for us we couldn't work out why it would take 40 minutes when there were only a few diners
The burgers were good the wedges were ok but a bit scorched
There were plenty of good flavours in the burger it was not too dry however used up a small jar of ketchup
The desserts were good the berry jelly with apple and rosemary ice was very good as was my better halts cheese cake
The food is priced about right and the service is good
Our only complaint was little flies pestering us from the window they obviously came in the door but cannot get out the window
Great place though with a chef who cooks food with love !!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sherbert852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgeview Station Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bridgeview Station Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing