We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, poor service, great view”

Bridgeview Station Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 400 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Set on Dundee’s prominent waterfront and housed within an iconic Victorian railway station, Bridgeview Station Café-restaurant boasts unparalleled panoramic views over the Tay estuary and aims to set a new standard for casual dining within the city. Nominated for two Architectural awards, Bridgeview Station was based on the original design of Dundee’s old Magdalen Green Railway Station and was constructed over 6 years with no expense spared, using local skilled tradesmen.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is my second visit here. first time, I waited around 15 minutes, didn't get served and left. Slightly better this time. Turned up asked if breakfast was available was told yes and to sit anywhere by the windows. So I picked a seat which had a clear view but "anywhere by the windows" didn't include where I sat so was asked to move about 5 minutes later. But not asked for my order, that was an other 5 minutes or so later. Why wait 10 minutes to be served when I'd already asked about breakfast? Anyway, when it arrived it was a single rasher of bacon which had was dried out and had a texture that suggested it had been sitting around for a while, a single supermarket value pack sausage, a fried egg, some black pudding and some nice mushrooms. Toast was made with very nice bread. So ok, but overpriced, in my opinion. Another 10 minute wait to try and pay the bill, gave up went to the till, still had to wait while the two waitresses worked out how to ring up a coffee. Spent around 45 minutes in the place of which around 25 was spent waiting for something, pretty poor really.
So, scoring, tricky this. the views are brilliant, so when you're waiting to get served, the food to arrive, the bill, you can happily switch off and enjoy the view. Just as well, because if what I've experienced is anything to go by, you will wait. Food is average, service is poor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kiltedladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStationMaster, Manager at Bridgeview Station Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant we appreciate your feedback. I apologise that our establishment didn't live up to your expectations on this occasion...we are a

Firstly let me explain that staff should always show you to a table but on this occasion because the restaurant was becoming busy quickly, as it always does, staff pointed you to a group of tables for 2 persons by the window that were free, the table you initially sat at was for 4 individuals which is why we had to correct this. Our fault and I apologise for this.

With regards to our food, we charge £5.95 for a breakfast including tea or coffee and toast...which is VERY reasonably priced for what customers get. Our bacon, sausages & black pudding are all supplied by a quality local butcher and not a supermarket as you incorrectly stated and all our food is prepared to order, which is why you waited a while. We serve over 800 breakfasts per week and never have a complaint (apart from the fact we don'd serve breakfast after 11.30am!)

please look at this review Bridgeview Station received by a food critic who travels around the UK to compare breakfast offerings....

http://fryupsgoodornot.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/guest-review-by-ally-hadden.html

I am disappointed that you felt the breakfast you ate was average, we take great pride in the standard of cooking we serve and are encouraged at the level of growth our business has achieved on this reputation. On the contrary our establishment is typically fully booked every weekend for breakfast which is a testament to the quality and standard of our food and service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 672 of 873 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was the first time we went there for lunch and we were quite disappointed; we ordered the pasta main, which was so small that it looked like an average starter. The spinach cannelloni consisted of 3 small tubes about 10cm long and 1cm wide – that was it, not even any salad or bread. That said, it was nicely cooked and the soup was good too. It is nice that someone in Dundee aims to do gourmet quality food, but people also like to leave restaurants well fed, not hungry. I guess if we had a starter, main and pudding, that would be enough – but that would cost about £20, so not really what we’d expect to pay for midweek lunch.
There is a real lack of good restaurants in Dundee – you get mostly either cheap ‘microwaved’ food from restaurant chains, or overpriced restaurants trying to be upmarket and serving very tiny portions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStationMaster, Manager at Bridgeview Station Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

many thanks for your review.

I'm sorry your visit didn't live up to your expectations.

our a la carte menu is based around 2/3 courses and we always alert diners of this at the time of ordering.

The cannelloni dish your ordered is prepared completely in house, we make all our own pastas etc and that particular dish was 3 pieces of cannelloni which are around 15cm x 5cm similar to the image below but x 3 (this was a starter we did with cannelloni)

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=526838480672155&set=a.358413030848035.77268.100000380247252&type=3&theater

Naturally because the ingredients we typically use are more expensive, there is always going to be a more expensive cost offset to the customer but we hope customers are happy to pay slightly more for fresh food of quality.

I would like to suggest if you come in again to try something off our our classic offerings, which bridge the game nicely between quality executed food and hearty home-comfort meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a full Scottish breakfast ......beef sausage,back bacon,black pudding,tattle scone,beans,mushrooms,tomato & I chose scrambled egg but fried was also an option.toast included.....one word....Delicious! Good value for £5.95, staff were young but attentive & has a great view of the river.would definitely recommend. They also do soup & sandwiches which are all home made & dinner in the evening too. Will be back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leemarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Everything cooked from scratch in restaurant. Good quality food cooked well. Very popular so booking may be necessary. Will be going back again.

Thank miggins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went for lunch at this little restaurant with family whilst on holiday. Really super place- looks like a cafe at a first glance (albeit a very nice cafe!) but the food is something else. We had 'sandwiches' for lunch- these were very nice sandwiches, such as pulled pork, steak, etc on lovelt thick toasted bread. Served with amazing thick cut homemade chips, presented beautifully in mini mock chip-pans! But the desserts- they were out of this world and of a class you'd associate with a much pricier place. Worth going for the dessert menu alone!

Was quite a busy little place, we were there as it got going at 12 and service was great but they did seem to be slowing up a bit by the time we left as the place was packed out by then- as you would expect in a little gem like this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob7082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgeview Station Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bridgeview Station Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing