We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just the BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridgeview Station Restaurant

Bridgeview Station Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 371 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set on Dundee’s prominent waterfront and housed within an iconic Victorian railway station, Bridgeview Station Café-restaurant boasts unparalleled panoramic views over the Tay estuary and aims to set a new standard for casual dining within the city. Nominated for two Architectural awards, Bridgeview Station was based on the original design of Dundee’s old Magdalen Green Railway Station and was constructed over 6 years with no expense spared, using local skilled tradesmen.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“just the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Were else in Dundee do you get a view like that when you are eating one of or the only best food in the city Not only is the food out of this world but the restaurant it self has been built to a very high standard and in my opinion the service was good The owner made you feel very welcome which now a days you find in restaurants very rare It is a family run establishment another plus point WELL DONE WILL GO BACK

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    248
    63
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 583 helpful votes
“Retired couples or passing drivers.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Reasonably priced takeaway en-route to destinations furher afield. On a clear day the view is stunning. Haven't really contemplated eating in the main building as it does look a bit fuddy duddy central hence the comments about the tardy service. The pensioner clients don't seem too phased by what constitutes time passing !

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfanumeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very poor, not going back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

i have been to this restaurant 6 times. overall the venue and food has been fine, but i have had 2 terrible meals there and i now know i'm definitely not going back. the place was understaffed. the staff were pleasant but obviously stressed. we were told we could only have soup and sandwich for lunch or wait over 15 mins for a meal. we went for the soup and sandwich. we then had to wait 15 mins for a drink. after a further 15mins we were offered to buy a further drink. soup and sandwich -which actually tasted good- arrived after 45 mins. the noise level was painful, and i have to say it was a relief to get out. i ate my sandwich in the car!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isobel369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStationMaster, Public Relations Manager at Bridgeview Station Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
It’s a true saying if 1 person has a positive experience they return this positivity in becoming a regular customer, if they (for whatever reason) have a negative experience they feel they need to vent their experience to others….

Bridgeview Station (depending on the days Bank Holiday etc) becomes very very busy very quickly, that’s a full restaurant (65 people + outside seating) all requiring to be served within a 5-10 min period and this was the case on your last visit.

Unlike many other establishments who advertise fresh food…we do actually make everything from fresh (our suppliers deliver meat, fish and veg daily) and no matter how big our kitchen brigade becomes, during these really busy periods delays are inevitable. This is the same for every other establishment in the country and not just exclusive to Bridgeview Station.

This is similar for staffing…even if we had 10 staff working the bottle neck during these very busy times would still be in the kitchen which is why we try and be as transparent as possible to our customers when arriving that delays are apparent. Our business does 70% of its custom via customers walking in off the street and not from bookings therefore it makes it hard for us to predict when these intense busy periods are likely to arise so we can organise staff accordingly.

I understand soup and sandwiches were particularly delayed on your visit, we had a new junior chef who just started and as a result things were slower that said this issue has now been addressed.

As for the noise…this is something were currently addressing. We recognise that during really busy periods the noise level is a little louder than it should be but the nature of the building (being based on old Victorian Station blueprints) meant that various sound proofing techniques were not taken into consideration during the build.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dundee`s best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Hi All,
(First post on Trip advisor)
Having just returned from what can only be described as one of the most enjoyable culinary delights to be had in the city of Dundee, I cannot, and do not, understand some of the negative posts uploaded on this site, by what I can only, and must presume are “competitors” (perhaps worried ones at that,) of this excellent dining experience what is the Bridgeview Station “Restaurant”.
I (and my family) were overwhelmed, not only by the quality, preparation, and presentation of the food, service, and overall ambience of this fine establishment, that I will not only encourage, however insist, that I recommend this restaurant to everyone who has not experienced this “Hidden” Gem.
The starters, and main courses (fine wine included) was only matched in quality by the surrounding views and location. A most enjoyable meal was had by all. Congratulations, good luck for the future, and many thanks to all the staff involved for a wonderful culinary experience.
On a parting note to everyone who reads this post, I would have spent more taking the family to a fast food joint. An overall 10/10 for price, quality, attentative service, ambience, and quality of the fresh produce.
Kind regards, and a big thankyou.
Glassman

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glassman371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A PLEASANT SURPRISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Visited here for Sunday lunch on the strength of a few word of mouth reports .What we found was a very pleasant place to have lunch. When we arrived we were quickly shown to a nice table and the menu arrived soon after.The menu is kind of in two parts ,a light bite section and a three course section from which any combination can be chosen , we had a starter and a main course both of which were very well presented and delicious.Unlike some of the negative reviews our food and drinks came within the time you would expect in fact a very minor criticism would be that the main course came to quickly after the starter! Overall this was a very pleasnant experience and one I am sure we will repeat.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tommo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgeview Station Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bridgeview Station Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing