We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must visit chambers!”

Chambers Coffee House & Restaurant
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: British, American, Cafe, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Chambers is an independently owned, double award winning restaurant. Located in the cultural quarter of Dundee, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our friendly staff provide excellent service, our food is freshly prepared by our chefs in house. A great selection of home baking is made daily on site
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You must visit chambers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Chambers offer fabulous quality of food and decent prices and on top of that the staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. I would highly recommend to anyone a visit here, the food is spectacular and definitely above average. The atmosphere is good and you can't ask for better service. Love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank jendoc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    31
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been here several times over the years for evening meals and reguarly for lunch. I have always enjoyed the food here as it is fresh homemade food. They also have an excellent choice of teas and coffees. Excellent atmosphere and is suitable for families too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service without a single smile”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Have been to Chambers a few times over the years, most recently because it is roomy enough for our baby's pram and friends' prams and has highchairs. Went along today as a group of five plus two babies for lunch. Felt pretty much ignored when we walked in (there were only about three other tables in) and were left to wrestle with the table and chairs, two prams and the highchairs that we had to go hunting for before anyone came to see us. Throughout our visit, the service was not friendly and on occasion, the way we were spoken to was verging on rude, although perhaps we were not the easiest table to take an order from as we were occupied with getting the babies settled. I'd even go so far as to say we felt like we were a bit of an irritation to the waitresses.

Food was okay - nothing special - and perhaps on the expensive side for what it was.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dajuggla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice lunch at Chambers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Recently visited Chambers, found the food to be good and the setting to be extremely pleasant. Maybe owing to the fact that there was a table of twelve in for lunch, we found the service to be slower than expected. Would certainly consider a return visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

recently visited chambers coffee house for lunch
, it was lovely and cosy, staff very helpful & friendly and good value for money
food was good as always would defenitly recommened this place for lunch and hope to be back soon when next in dundee :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambers Coffee House & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing