We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning Coffee”
Review of The Fort Hotel

The Fort Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fort Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having had to cut short a walk at the Grassy Beach because of inclement weather, took my friends to this hotel. Enjoyed a lovely cup of coffee and a fruit scone in very nice surroundings. The service was good as was the scones and coffee and the cost was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IanChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for The Fort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Fort Hotel in Dundee has a somewhat unique setup. The hotel rooms are located in a renovated building across the street from the Pub/restaurant where you register and have your breakfast. The room are modern, comfortable and secure with excellent bathroom facilites. The hotel is convenient to the town center which offers a range a small restaurants and coffee shops. Good value for money in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This accommodation is located over a pub which to be fair is very nice and modern, however the same cannot be said about the room. I agree with previous comments that the room allocated was at best a single with a double bed squeezed in to it, the floor actually sloped to one side, and I was amazed hat there were no toiletries supplied when I arrived, after asking a mini bar of soap was supplied and when I asked if they had shower gel I was laughed at and told no one puts shower tell into hotel rooms these days!!! The room reminded me of the old 80's Guest houses where quality was lacking. The staff at the bar and restaurant were very helpful and the food was of a good quality although the breakfast over my three day stay were a bit sparse with different items of food missing on different days. The biggest disappointment was this is no express by holiday inn or Premier inn but unfortunately was the same price.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
6  Thank Demetrios C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for a few days over New Year. Hogmanay Party very lively. Hotel in the process of renovating bedrooms - unfortunately none of our party were allocated a new one but the ones we were in were clean and comfy enough. Tea making facilities,hairdryer and tv in room. A short stroll to the sea front. Breafast excellent and ably served up by Betty the owners granny!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanoraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My colleague and I stay here every time we come to Broughty Ferry. The staff know us and are welcoming, and the refurbished bar with its LED TVs for the sport is really impressive. The bar has a fine selection of lagers and beers - I was on Estralla Damm - and there are a few malt whiskies too!
The bedroom was adequate and clean, and breakfast in the morning was delicious. (Tip: if you like Arbroath Smokies for breakfast, tell them when you book your room, and they will order them in for you!)
We did not dine in the Fort in the evening, as Broughty Ferry is blessed with some superb Indian restaurants, but came back to the bar after our meal, where the atmosphere was very cosy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamTarts55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having looked online, and seen how nice the rooms were, we were really looking forward to our stay in the Fort 6th & 7th July. When i called the hotel to book our 2 night stay, i really should have known then, that it wasn't going to be all it was cracked up to be. The lady who took our booking, was very grumpy, and not pleasant at all, like we were disturbing her day by calling. When we arrived at the Fort, there was a sign on the door, saying to check in at the bar, so we had a bit of a wait, as the bar staff were busy with customers. We eventually got checked in, and were shown our room, which was horrible!It looked nothing like the lovely rooms which are shown on line. It was really a single room with a double bed in it. It had a threadbare carpet, which didn't look exactly that clean, in the bedroom, through into the bathroom. The bathroom was very old, with cracked woodwork, and flaking paint and paper. The shower doors didn't meet when you tried to close them, and there was a huge step to get in and out of the shower. The furniture in the bedroom was very old and dated. I made the mistake of bumping against the chest of drawers (which you couldn't help but do, due to the size of the room), and the whole thing just collapsed. The feet weren't attached to the chest, and there were blocks of wood in between the feet and the chest. There were no table lights at the side of the bed, and there was only a small mirror in the room, which was no where near a socket if you were drying your hair ect. This small mirror also fell down at every opportunity. When checking in to the hotel, you are asked what time you would like breakfast the next morning. We said 10am, and down we went at 10 for our breakfast. We sat there for 10mins or so, and not a sole appeared. We got fed up waiting, and left, to have breakfast in one of the great cafes in the Ferry. We stay in Broughty Ferry a lot, as it is lovely place, and all the people are friendly, with some great pubs, and lots of great places to eat. But i'm afraid, we will not be staying at the Fort again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I along with a friend stayed at the Fort Hotel back in September of 2011. I had not been in Broughty since I was a small child and the memories came flooding back. What a lovely quaint wee place this is. The pub and staff were brilliant as was the lady who served us our breakfast the next morning. Our room was adequate, no complaints and I loved opening the window early in the morning and hearing the gulls down by the beach, for me it really was a step back in time. Food was very good and all the people who live in Broughty were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying here for a couple of nights next year (2013) as we would like to spend some time down by the beach. The history of this place is wonderful and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAK1Peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 28 in Dundee
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dundee Carlton Hotel
Dundee Carlton Hotel
#26 of 28 in Dundee
97 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Hotel

Address: 48-60 Fort Street, Dundee DD5 2AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $114 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fort Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Fort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing