We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Avoid.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruce Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruce Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I recently stayed at the Bruce Hotel while attending a conference at the university. When I first made the booking, the proprietor was attentive to my late night arrival. However, when I arrived, there was no key outside or anyone to let me in. After trying to ring the doorbell (not sure how they didn't wake up after ten minutes of constant buzzing), I tried to find another hotel...but they were all booked. So I ended up sleeping on the porch of the Bruce hotel. The owner apologized...and that was about it. I wish I could say that I was exaggerating.
With all of that aside, the hotel itself isn't bad, but not great. I had a very small room with my own sink but a shared bathroom. Free wifi was a nice bonus. Breakfast was standard. Overall, there are nicer places in Dundee of comparable value and location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weltheow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
2
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Compared to other B&Bs, the price was too high for the quality of the rooms. Beds were comfortable but the linen worn and is some cases stained. Otherwise, the location and the biscuits in the room made our stay pleasant overall. The free wifi was a great help.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My stay here was pleasant. My room was furnished in a basic manner but very practical. Although a smallish room there was plenty of room to hang up & put away my clothing. The sink area was very clean - and again with plenty of space to put things on like your soap, toothbrush etc. which many places seem to lack these days. I have to say the bed was VERY comfortable. The shared toilet & shower facilities were very clean. This B&B was well placed to visit Dundee and a nice breakfast and helpful owner made this a good choice.

Two small complaints would be that 1. the TV reception in my room wasn't the greatest with an annoying humming noise. 2. My room also had two very large plants in it (a la day of the Triffids!) The owner obviously has a liking of these very large house plants because there are also a few to be found in the breakfast area. However, I found that although the bottom leaves of the plants in my room had been well dusted the top leaves of the plants were very dusty and started my hayfever off. So I rather felt that if you are going to have these plants around you really need to keep an eye on the dust situation!

All in all good value for money and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelticSpirit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Bruce Hotel is a nice little B&B near the university and not too far from the bus and railway station and the city centre. The single room I had was very small and had only a sink, but fridge and microwave were right in front of it and the always-clean bathrooms (toilet and shower/toilet) were only a few steps away. Since it´s far away from the main roads it´s nice and quiet. With lots of supermarkets and restaurant/take-aways in the area food is not a problem. And there´s free wifi in the whole house. Considering the price it´s a perfect accommodation for someone who only wants a nice room for a few days of sightseeing or so.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandPiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

Simply lovely, nothing to add... I stayed with my boyfriend twice for some days each time and found a wonderful accomodation: very agreable room; the owner, Alexa, is really wonderful, ready to help for every kind of request or question...
The room is clean and tidy, tea/coffee facilities with biscuits, too. Breakfast gorgious, full cooked Scottish (with free-range eggs!) or usual cereals/toast/jams/eggs in varios recipes, etc...
You can adjust your room temperature autonomally (I feel the cold very much, so that's really great!)
They forgot writing it on the web-site, but there is a microwave, a fridge, cutlery, bowls and pots at your disposal (which is very convenient if you don't want to go out having dinner or lunch... and in summer in order to have fresh beverages for your trips around Dundee!).
We weren't in the en-suite room, but it has basin, that is comfy; both shower room and toilet rooms are cleaned really often, so you don't feel you are sharing them with somebody else!
It has free wi-fi, hairdryer and iron/iron board on request. You can even have your laundry washed and dried by paying a very small fee.
On top of all, it doesn't cost much, so I will suggest it to everybody!

  • Liked — everything! perhaps the breakfast!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Crippy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.9 mi away
Dunlaw House Hotel
Dunlaw House Hotel
#19 of 31 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shaftesbury Lodge
Shaftesbury Lodge
#12 of 31 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
West Park
West Park
#27 of 31 in Dundee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Hotel

Property: Bruce Hotel
Address: 39 Roseangle, Dundee, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bruce Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing