We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abertay Guest House
Ranked #7 of 24 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had a 2 night stay for the air show and was really pleased with our choice of accomodation. The Owners were very friendly & accommodating for any extra requests and the room was spotless. I also loved the 'family feel' of the place which made it very homely. Room 4 was very stylish with beautiful bedding and towels. We would definitely stay again. Thanks.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JennyR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Abertay Guest house, that is home to the 'Secret Garden' tea room, is a little gem.
We have just returned from a 4 night stay and we loved it.
The owners are just so friendly and helpful in every way - room great, it overlooked the garden and aviary - so every morning it was a joy to open the curtains.
Breakfast more than adequate - would not hesitate in recommending this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

this i a lovely place to eat the garden is lovely the owner is very nice a bit hidden away but very good. the food was great will defo return here fantastic place the garden has an avery in it with different birds

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This Guest House is absolutely beautiful. Our room was right up the top and was beautifully furnished. The owners have taken great pride in providing wonderful service. Everything about this Guest House is top notch. Its a short walk down to the beach and the local village. They have a lovley garden out the back with a bird avery and if weather permits outdoor seating. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stay at this guest house each week for 2 nights a week it is the cleanest and most friendliest experience i have ever come across. I travel regularly with my work and Kate and Karl are the most dedicated proprietors i have ever met x They are always smiling and treat me like one of the family . Breakfast is amazing i would recomend this place to anybody thank you Kate and Karl xxxx From Amanda Taylor Liverpool Mandy for short xxx

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Friendly stuff, free parking, very nice room, very good breakfast and near to some pubs and restaurants.
The price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurentio86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This Guest House is so tastefully decorated and excellently presented. The beds are most comfortable. The location is so central, the gardens are among the prettiest I've seen in my 7week travel. Loved the views from our very bright & spacious room. The Breakfast is so fresh, and the presentation demonstrated the care and efficiency of the owners/hosts. The Hosts Catherine & Karl are so hardworking,helpful, friendly and caring. The place is so very clean and bright- I love that!!. For me, our shower though very modern and clean & efficient was a tad squashy. I cannot speak highly enough of this place. The Avery, with those beautiful birds, provided us with the sweetest sound/songs to wake up to. If you want to steal away for a bit of peace sit surrounded by the colourful flower baskets in the little hide away beside the avery and watch the birds entertain you or just relax in the most comfortable, luxurious lounges and watch your favourite TV shows or read your favourite book. Fresh coffee is on tap 24x7. there are many rooms for you to choose from offering variety & luxury. They’re lovely only make sure you specify if you want double bed room or twin single. All the beds I checked out were very comfortable & warm. The week we were there was their busiest . I was so impressed with the efficiency in which the Catherine & Karl had the breakfast ready for every single guest without too much delay. They appeared a good team. Catherine works like a Trojan. It is only a 10-15min walk to the pubs, restaurants, fishing, shopping. And the bus stops just outside to take you to Dundee/station. Very peaceful surrounding not to mention colourful with those beautiful flower baskets and that cheeky Parrot that captured my heart, making his presence known, was so amusing. I just loved the beautiful Avery and birds so well looked after by the owners. I only have one regret – WE didn’t stay long enough. We loved this place and was surprised at how reasonably priced for what we got, we’d have stayed a few days longer to soak up the hospitality, relaxed in the peaceful, pretty gardens, birds and comfort not to mention the exciting menu offered by the hosts. Service, hospitality, cleanliness, comfort, affordable & convenient. Thanks Catherine & Karl.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAMELA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
3.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
4.1 mi away
Malmaison Dundee
Malmaison Dundee
#3 of 28 in Dundee
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
0.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abertay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abertay Guest House

Address: 65 Monifieth Road, Dundee DD5 2RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: $119 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abertay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abertay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abertay Guest House Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing