We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
249
53
21
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
249
53
21
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat housetroutputting greenfly fishingglen islaglen sheehole golf coursehigh teadaughters weddingkids menusky tvfamily get togetherthoroughly enjoyed our staydriving rangeself cateringliving roomlovely meal
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 346 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

This is our 6th year of staying in the boat house we absolutely love that place, it is literally home from home, I'm so pleased they put a couple of small tables in, as nice as the glass table is it was a bit hard to reach when your settled down, but seriously it's so peaceful staying there, there's good walks, fishing, and golfing.All the staff are wonderful and friendly, the food is amazing well worth eating there we stayed from 7th-10th Nov and there were quite a lot of people in eating.Your not too far from Dundee either,and there's a Dobbies garden centre just about 2 mile away We would well recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank skywalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Hello Mrs Stonebank,

Thank you for your gleaming review! We always love hearing from our regulars, and it's great to know that you feel the Leannan Boathouse is a home from home. It is always a joy when you come to visit us and can't wait to welcome you back for your next visit.

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to walk and unwind along the pond edges and amongst the cabins.
The large log cabin style restaurant and bar is very welcoming and dogs are allowed in the bar area. We had a lovely fruit scone and coffee each, very reasonably priced. It’s worth taking the time to visit. Also great if you’re into fishing or golf!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank kevingF7928AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Hello KevingF7928AF!

Thanks for taking a moment to write a review of your experience at the resort. It's lovely to hear that you managed to walk round the resort, taking in some of our facilities and that you finished it off with a well deserved fruit scone and coffee by the sounds of things! Thanks for recommending us and please come visit us again soon.

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

Difficult to say as I would wish, as it was a wedding venue for a family member. But the key thing is that although nice, it was expensive and it was apparently not the special exclusive use as expected. Be prepared to compete and have unnecessary conflict with the key every day users e.g. fishermen et al during the wedding photos etc. This is not necessary and better management of the site could avoid this if they really wanted to try, but I do see it is a recurring problem from previous comments. Special day, diminished by unnecessary competition and the need to edit out fishermen from the wedding pictures and derogatory and insulting comments from some of them. Disappointing and I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Hello Bill, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your experience as a guest at a wedding on the resort was not as you had imagined. As we have lots of different activities on site that are used by a variety of guests, we can't offer exclusive use. We have discussed the points you made about the fishermen with our Sports team and we will make sure that any fishermen are aware that there are weddings on when they book in. We would really appreciate finding out more information, please could you get in touch with us events@forbesofkingennie.com.

Kindest regards,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

Booked in online very easily, last minute decision, swayed by the supper menu. This is available 5-7pm on an evening and it was excellent and very reasonable prices just had the 2 course menu ( which means I have to come back to try the puddings !) I could not fault service or the food . Well presented staff. Outlook into the loch lovely as was the outdoor area with fire for drinks after meal
Would highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Hello Lynne!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Supper club meal with us. It was a joy to read your review and I will pass it on to all of our team. It is brilliant to know that you couldn't fault your experience with us - please come and visit us again soon!

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our Golden Wedding Anniversary with a lunch at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort. From our first contact with the events team it became clear that we were very valued customers and that they were there to make our event a success. Nothing was too difficult for them and on the day of the lunch the ambience of the location, the excellent quality of the food and wines and the superb service provided by the staff made our day outstanding and everyone of our guests commented very favourably on it.

I would unreservedly recommend Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort for any occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Hello Ian!

Congratulations on your Golden anniversary and thanks for choosing to celebrate it at the resort. We are over the moon to hear that your lunch was outstanding from beginning to end and we hope to welcome you both back to the resort soon. Thank you for recommending us.

With thanks,

Kingennie Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews