We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forbes Of Kingennie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forbes of Kingennie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forbes of Kingennie
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Forbes Of Kingennie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Compliments to the chef we had a lovely meal on the 27th December 2013 there was eight of us including two children. The staff were very attentive Carlos and Ari made sure the kids were entertained with colouring pencils and balloons to keep them amused while us adults had a great get together and a great time.

Mrs & Mrs Ewing
Dundee

Room Tip: Forbes Of Kingennie is ideal for families and couples to have a great holiday and is near to the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit at Forbes of Kingennie. I am thrilled to hear you were pleased with your meal and service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterside Restaurant in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    44
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
122
67
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

What a gem...great place we stayed in November 2013

My friend from Holland booked the lodge. She flew into Manchester airport where I met her in the afternoon. We knew it would be late by the time we drove to Dundee. I had discussed this with Carlo before hand. He was the best host, he couldn't do enough to keep his guests happy. When he knew we would struggle to find the lodge he went out of his way to meet us at 8.30 in the evening, in his own time. We followed him in the car through all the country roads in the dark ( we would not have found it) when we got there he had the lodge ready for us. What a place, much more than we could have imagined.
The Restaurant / bar was cosy with great views and food

The lodge was great, nearly everything you could need / want was supplied.Sky TV, a DVD player and flat screen TV. The bedrooms were a good size and the bathroom was very clean. The only down side was there was no WiFi, in today's world this is a must for most people. One more small thing,the shops were not close by and the whole point of the country was not to be in the car to often. Maybe a small area in the clubhouse were you are able to buy milk, eggs , bread etc. would be something to think about for your guests

My friend and I would love to come back, who knows maybe next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racol61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear your comments regarding your stay and have passed your comments on to the team here at the resort. Thank you for your feedback in regards to internet in the lodge house and the availability of groceries at the resort. We strive to meet customer requirements and I will look into this for the near future. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hmmm, stayed in the lodges here a wedding on 30 Nov for 2 nights (it would have been more but work demanded otherwise) as the best man with my significant other on what was a great weekend.

Anyway the lodges themselves are highly recommended and inadvertently we ended up using it as a party camp. Outside the lodges there are great surroundings including some fishing spots and a golf course, plus nice views if you appreciate scenery.

Back to the venue, you could easily arrange a wedding/birthday/corporate day out here - and I may in the future. As far as hotels/B+B go, it's one of a few places I'd actually return to.

We had several meals in this facility - all of which were to a high standard. That said the lodges are fully equipped for those who wish to cater for themselves. We done a combination.

Our only regret was cutting the party short by one evening. We couldn't thank the staff enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penguins1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review. I am exceptionally pleased to hear your thoughts on a wedding you attended as the best man. I am very proud of the team here at Kingennie, who take great care to ensure that that all customers are well looked after. We all look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The weekend started on 29th and carried on until Monday 2nd Dec. Everything at the wedding was perfect and the service was first class by all the staff. Both courts were occupied by family and friends also 2 lodges. The facilities were excellent and the party atmosphere was enhanced by a superb facility. We were sorry when it came to an end, however, we hope to return in October 2014 and do it all again, for a birthday this time. Once again thanks to the whole team at Kingennie.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyn500ble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review. I am exceptionally pleased to hear your thoughts on a wedding you attended. I am very proud of the team here at Kingennie, who take great care to ensure that that all customers are well looked after. I look forward to welcoming you to Forbes of Kingennie in October 2014 for another celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just returned home after spending 3 days in the Lodge house. We were so lucky to get this deal through itison. The Lodge house was beautiful, spotlessly clean, everything you could need for your stay was there for you. The staff were brilliant, so helpful and friendly, could not do enough for you. We were so sorry to leave and hopefully we will return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babsSouthLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear your comments on your recent stay in the Lodge House at Forbes of Kingennie. I am very proud of the team here at Kingennie, who take great care to ensure all customer requirements and expectations are achieved. I am delighted to hear you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Regulars for a walk round the ponds, breakfast and the odd lunch it was such a pleasure to find that Carlo had noted Gluten Free needs. GF bacon rolls now on the menu on Sunday Mornings. What a treat! And Gluten Awareness in the kitchen. So now a great environment, good service and GF catering. Thank you Carlo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anndering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your gluten free bacon rolls. I look forward to welcoming you back to Forbes of Kingennie in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We came back here for our second visit staying at the leeanan boathouse and it was absolutely superb. So relaxing and so beautiful I can't believe our weekend is over already!
We were made to feel so welcome on check in (thank you Carlo for showing us the new extension!) and really had such a lovely time. My only mark down was the restaurant. I ordered a goats cheese with a beet root and orange salad which sounded nice but what came out was 2 blobs of very purple goats cheese and 3 blobs of orange jelly. very odd I would maybe review this item on the menu (maybe it was just me!) Also our wine that we ordered to the table was quite warm. Main course was butternut squash linguini which was beautiful and my husband had a steak (lovely) That really was the only thing, and seriously this place is worth a visit. Especially the boathouse! Can't wait to come back thank you for everything :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quinn354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the boathouse. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your feedback following your visit to our restaurant. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your goat’s cheese starter, this is a popular choice although I will talk to the chef in regards to your feedback. I apologise your wine was not to the correct temperature and I will speak to the team to ensure this does not happen again. I am pleased to hear your butternut squash linguini and steak were lovely. I am delighted to hear you will be retuning and look forward to welcoming you to Forbes of Kingennie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
5.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.1 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Property: Forbes of Kingennie
Address: Kingennie, Dundee dd53rd, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing