We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forbes of Kingennie
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Well where to start. Myself and my fiancée have booked Forbes of Kingennie for our wedding in May 2014 and from the word GO we have had excellent service from everyone.

Yesterday we went for our meeting with Louise the wedding coordinator and she is the most approachable down to earth woman ever. All my questions were answered and I left confident that our wedding next year could not be in safer hands.

We then had a lovely meal at the restaurant which was to die for. The best food I have ever tasted. Affordable but very high end. Carlos was extremely accommodating and didn't hesitate to even come and say goodbye when he finished his shift. The waitress and waiter who were working yesterday (I apologize I didn't get your names) were very polite and made us feel at home. Again sorry for not getting your name but the other gentleman I think he may be a manager, tall and has a lovely exotic accent (if you could let me know his name I'd really appreciate it) he could have not been more accommodating, smile that lit up the room and very friendly.

We simply felt special. Nothing was too much hassle.

I cannot recommend Forbes of Kingennie enough! We can't wait to start our married life and could not think of a better venue to begin it than this paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snuggles1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Wow, thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. I am delighted to hear your comments on your meal in the restaurant and the service you received from the team at Forbes of Kingennie. . I am very proud of the team here at Kingennie, who take great care to ensure that all customers requirements and expectations are achieved. We look forward to hosting your wedding day and as always we are here if you require any other information. The gentlemen’s name who you were asking is Ari our food and beverage manager.

We all look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    44
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
123
69
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had the special 2 course lunch today - smoked haddock risotto (yum) and honey and walnut cheesecake (even more yum). Delicious food and friendly staff in lovely surroundings - wlll be back. Wish I had the recipes for the food as would love to try to make it myself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DundeeWillowblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit at Forbes of Kingennie. I am thrilled to hear you were very pleased with your meal. The haddock risotto is one of our new dishes we have added to our menu and has proven to be very popular. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterside Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairns9
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here last week for 4 nights with my Wife and our pet dog. The lodge was extremely comfortable, it contained everything you could need from washing up liqud, dishwasher to dvd players and sky sports(result). The grounds are really nice and a great for a walk which was handy when travelling with the dog. We ate in the restaurant for lunch once and also had a drink in the bar on another occassion. We really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bairns9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear your comments on your recent stay at Forbes of Kingennie. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed dinning in the restaurant and bar area. I am delighted to hear you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner spent 2 nights in the Boathouse. It was lovely and the setting was beautiful. We ate in the restaurant both nights, the second being steak night.......could not fault either night and the waiter (Carlo) was very attentive and welcoming. We will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Boathouse. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the boathouse and your meals in the Waterside Restaurant. I Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were up last night for a meal for a 21st birthday. Our server was friendly could not do enough for us the place itself was clean and warm . The meal itself was brilliant. Would go back in a heartbeat. Would definatly recommend to go and see for youself.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferry_las
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadviser. I am pleased to hear your positive comments and feedback in regards to the food and service you received. I am delighted to hear you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you back at Forbes of Kingennie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lunch is served in the cosy bar area, or in the adjacent dining room.
The menu is varied and showcases locally produced food, and is attractively presented. Even a simple burger looks good and is very tasty indeed. On a sunny day , the balcony area is a great place for a coffee and some lunch. The home made soup is also excellent.
A walk around the fishing ponds is pleasant. Maybe I should take up golf and /or fishing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear your comments on the food and surroundings. Our burgers are very popular and I am very pleased to hear they are very tasty indeed. I look forward to seeing you out fishing or golfing soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Firstly i apologize for it taking us so long to write up our review. My husband and i were married at Forbes of Kingennie on Saturday 3rd August 2013. We had been visiting the restaurant at Kingennie for some time before planning our wedding and we always left feeling more than satisfied, that satisfied that when we announced to get married we just knew we wanted to have kingennie as our wedding venue. We did not give any other venue even a blink of an eye as we just knew that this was the venue for us. Don't get me wrong there was times were we thought to ourselves have we built this venue up to much and come our wedding day would we be let down! But boy were our thoughts wrong! and it exceeded even our high expectations that we already had for the venue. This venue is out of this world, from the beautiful surroundings and the picturesque views to the amazing food and not forgetting the wonderful and friendly staff!! We really can not say enough about this venue! From the moment we booked our wedding at Kingennie we built up a great relationship with the wedding co-ordinator Louise, she is a real asset to Kingennie and was always there to help, no query to small and she was always on the end of the phone if we needed help or advice. On our wedding day David and Ari were just amazing such such lovely people they helped our day run smoothly and not forgetting the rest of the staff who were brilliant. All the food was served as quickly as possible with a good timing left in between courses and all food was served hot. All our guests were commenting on how good the food was and how beautiful the venue is. I really can't think of one negative thing to say about Forbes of Kingennie other than i am absolutely gutted our wedding is over now, as we were beginning to feel part of the kingennie family but you won't keep us away too long as we will be back visiting the restaurant very soon :) Huge thanks to all staff at kingennie and a special thanks to Louise, David and Ari you guys are amazing :) Lots of Love Mr and Mrs Cowan xx

Room Tip: Boathouse was just beautiful such a great way to end your wedding day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am extremely pleased to hear your thoughts on your special day and the lead up to the day. I am very proud of the team here at Kingennie, who take great care to ensure that they look after you well. I am delighted that we exceeded your high expectations and happy to hear that your guests were commenting on how good the food was and how beautiful the venue is.
I am very happy to hear you were beginning to feel like part of the Kingennie family and we all look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
5.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.1 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
3.5 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#13 of 30 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Property: Forbes of Kingennie
Address: Kingennie, Dundee dd53rd, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing