We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wedding venue ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forbes of Kingennie
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best wedding venue ever!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Firstly i apologize for it taking us so long to write up our review. My husband and i were married at Forbes of Kingennie on Saturday 3rd August 2013. We had been visiting the restaurant at Kingennie for some time before planning our wedding and we always left feeling more than satisfied, that satisfied that when we announced to get married we just knew we wanted to have kingennie as our wedding venue. We did not give any other venue even a blink of an eye as we just knew that this was the venue for us. Don't get me wrong there was times were we thought to ourselves have we built this venue up to much and come our wedding day would we be let down! But boy were our thoughts wrong! and it exceeded even our high expectations that we already had for the venue. This venue is out of this world, from the beautiful surroundings and the picturesque views to the amazing food and not forgetting the wonderful and friendly staff!! We really can not say enough about this venue! From the moment we booked our wedding at Kingennie we built up a great relationship with the wedding co-ordinator Louise, she is a real asset to Kingennie and was always there to help, no query to small and she was always on the end of the phone if we needed help or advice. On our wedding day David and Ari were just amazing such such lovely people they helped our day run smoothly and not forgetting the rest of the staff who were brilliant. All the food was served as quickly as possible with a good timing left in between courses and all food was served hot. All our guests were commenting on how good the food was and how beautiful the venue is. I really can't think of one negative thing to say about Forbes of Kingennie other than i am absolutely gutted our wedding is over now, as we were beginning to feel part of the kingennie family but you won't keep us away too long as we will be back visiting the restaurant very soon :) Huge thanks to all staff at kingennie and a special thanks to Louise, David and Ari you guys are amazing :) Lots of Love Mr and Mrs Cowan xx

Room Tip: Boathouse was just beautiful such a great way to end your wedding day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I am extremely pleased to hear your thoughts on your special day and the lead up to the day. I am very proud of the team here at Kingennie, who take great care to ensure that they look after you well. I am delighted that we exceeded your high expectations and happy to hear that your guests were commenting on how good the food was and how beautiful the venue is.
I am very happy to hear you were beginning to feel like part of the Kingennie family and we all look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    45
    18
    13
    8
See reviews for
130
71
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Organised for a group of 10 ladies to stay and play over 3nights/four days. Accommodation very good with plenty of room for us all. Restaurant served first class food with very good service. Golf course in good condition and very well presented. Good value for money and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 225Catherine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted to hear your comments on your stay as well as the golf course and restaurant and am very pleased to hear you would recommend us. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed with my husband and son in July- have often eaten there but first time we have stayed. We return to Scotland every summer and have tried a variety of lodges and locations- this was a great experience- nice lodge, nice location and my boys enjoyed the golf. The steak nite in Thurs- buy one get one free- was a real bonus! Really nice staff too. Only gripe would be that the balconies were really dirty- but being in the middle of trees is probably unavoidable. Hope to return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawndubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. I am delighted to hear you had a great experience. I am very pleased that you managed to make use of the golf and enjoy steak night during your stay. I apologise that your balcony was dirty and will take appropriate action to ensure this is resolved. Hope to see you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been going to Forbes of Kingennie for lunch a least one day a week for the past year and find the food very good and the staff attentive even when they have other functions on the staff are still attentive. I also never feel rushed and the food is very good value for money and am happy to say that i will going there for the forseable future .

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your visits to Kingennie. I am delighted to hear your comments and look forward to welcoming you back many more times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our party of 24 came together for a wonderful celebratory evening meal. We had a wonderful time, staff were very efficient and courteous with our party Coming together for the 78th celebration of Fathers birthday and the reunion of our mothers cousin returning home from Vancouver for a visit
A beautiful venue and suitable location where we were looked after and catered with attentive attention. The food served was excellent and cooked to perfection. Huge thank you to the waiter who was very patient and took photographs of us all with the many cameras on offer.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves The perfect place for a family get together

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you chose to celebrate here at Kingennie and am very pleased to hear you had a wonderful time. I am very proud of the team here who work hard to ensure that all of our guests have an excellent time when they visit. I hope to welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having looked at various hotels who could cater for a family wedding we decided to have our ceremony and reception at the Kingennie Court South Lodge with guests also staying in the adjacent North Lodge. Bride and Groom staying at the Leannan Boat House.
From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble from the staff to ensure our day went to plan and all our guests were looked after. From setting up of the lodge in preparation through to master of ceremonies , the whole day was faultless, anyone looking to use this venue will be delighted with how they are treated , nothing is too much trouble.... I have to mention the star of the show "Carlo" who orchestrated and saw to everything , we are indebted to your professional experience , you are appreciated by everyone who attended our wedding , thank you very much

Michael & Anne O'Donnell 30-8-13

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am very proud of the team here at Kingennie and am delighted to hear that they all looked after you well. The ‘star of the show’ is very pleased to hear your comments too. I hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Leannen boathouse from the 20th-23rd of august this was our 3rd year in the boathouse it is just so quiet and such a beautiful place,to have your bedroom door open out onto decking on a lake is awesome, the clubhouse is very good, food is wonderful, and your very near to Dundee, Broughty Ferry is worth a visit as is Arbroath, looking forward to our next visit

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skywalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your 3rd visit to the boathouse. We are certainly very lucky to have a lodge with the bedroom door opening out onto the decking over the lake. I am very pleased to hear you make use of the facilities on site and enjoyed wonderful food. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
5.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#15 of 28 in Dundee
345 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Property: Forbes of Kingennie
Address: Kingennie, Dundee DD5 3RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing