We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Pleasant Holiday accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Forbes of Kingennie
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfectly Pleasant Holiday accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Lodge House was a perfectly adequate holiday lodge but to meet the luxury comments in virtually every paragraph of the website they would need to work a lot harder.
The website also states that all lodges are equipped with a dishwasher- we checked every cupboard but we certainly didn't have one.
The photos on the website are clearly all for much larger lodges, they all show them as having balconies which Lodge House doesn't have meaning the living accommodation is quite dark and gloomy. The general living area is small with the kitchen being very small and the space for the dining table very cramped. The bedrooms are a good size and definitely furnished to a higher standard than the living space. The bathroom is clean and of a good size but basic, for luxury you would expect provision of toiletries etc.
Storage heating system is complicated and not ease just to give a burst of extra heat as the summer evenings drop cool.

Room Tip: If you need good quality holiday accommodation this is fine, if you are looking for 'luxury'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I apologise that the information on the website regarding the dishwasher was not accurate and I have now changed this. All of the other lodges on site do have dishwashers but unfortunately the lodge house does not.
Our lodge gallery photos do have pictures of the lodge house in them (the ones with the family with mum and little girl in red tops) but do not show the outside of the lodge. Again the lodge house is the only lodge without a balcony.
Our lodge information pack usually contains details of how the storage heaters work and I am very sorry that we missed this on this occasion. We’ve got use to this lovely weather and not needing extra heat and have overlooked this when servicing the lodge.
I am pleased to hear that you did find the accommodation pleasant and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    44
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
123
69
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed as part of a family celebration. We hired Kingennie South for 2 nights. The Living area is huge. The unit had 5 twin bedded rooms en suite. There was also a family bathroom and Storage room. Another three people could have slept in the living area. It is next to the first Tee of the 9 hole Golf course. There are also 3 trout pools on site as well as a putting green and golf range. It is possible to hire fishing gear,golf carts and clubs on site. The unit is clearly designed to double as a conference venue. There is another equal sized unit nearby.
The food was good with a great choice. The prices were reasonable in the restaurant .

Room Tip: Book early. There are a variety of chalets of different design and size for hire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewConstellation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the space in Kingennie Court. I am delighted you managed to enjoy a meal in our restaurant during your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here as a family for 5 nights, and we are very impressed with what we got for the price, there's an individual lodge house which has two bedrooms, a living room, a bath room, and a kitchen. We cooked our own meals and spent time watching movies borrowed from the reception and walking around. The fishing lakes are stunning and the staff are quite friendly. The only drawback is the lack of wifi in the lodge house, but the public areas do have wifi.
There is a Tesco 10 minutes away, and travelling is convenient. All in all, it's a great place to stay, and if we had the chance we would definitely be coming back! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriaChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to hear your comments and hope that you do get a chance to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place seems to be hit or miss with regards to food! What a let down to a fabulous location! Given a 10% discount...great! The food was missing essential ingredients detailed in the menu! I will not be back. Certainly not worth the effort to travel to for a meal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nloudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very disappointed to hear your comments and would welcome the opportunity to resolve the issue with missing ingredients. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly so I can look into this to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Attended a family celebration here earlier this month. Excellent food with good choices to choose from. Portions are just right and there are kids options available if needed. Restaurant looks onto fishing lake giving good views. The restaurant is situated in next to a excellent putting green if you fancy a few holes before your meal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gotham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your family celebration here and hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the 3rd year we have had a golfing weekend at this venue & it has always been fantastic. 10 of us in the North lodge with breakfast, lunch, dinner & a round of golf. The lodge is huge with all rooms en suite. The terrace overlooks the 1st tee & the views across the countryside breath taking.
Food & accommodation has been first class. Also have to mention booking the golf packages. Very easy & is very keenly priced with all the food you get!
Special thanks to Elizabeth & Carlos for all the attention we get.......They are a credit to the place.
We have both North & South booked for next year so I think that says it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronay2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post of a review of your recent visit. I am delighted to hear you always have a fantastic time here at the resort and were well looked after again by the team. I am very proud of the team we have here at Kingennie, they work hard to ensure our guests have a good time and its great for them to see your review. Look forward to seeing you next year, here’s hoping the weather is as good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have stayed previously in Glen Esk and Kingennie South Lodges, which are gorgeous, but the Leannon Boat House was just 'the icing on the cake'! It was a beautiful, romantic setting, sitting out on the private jetty was just so tranquil. The Boat House was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, and the luxury of the furnishings were magnificent! The Jacuzzi was superb to also relax and enjoy! Can highly recommend it for a 'special occasion' or romantic escape. The restaurant offers delicious cuisine and the staff were all extremely attentive and friendly. Also an ' extra special' mention for Carlo, he just goes that extra mile to ensure your stay is of the highest degree! Thanks to you all for making our weekend such an experience to remember. Fiona Denchfield

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. It was great to see you again and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in the boathouse. It really is a fabulous lodge and must admit I do enjoy taking some time out on the jetty too. I am very pleased to hear your comments regarding the food and staff here at the restaurant and glad they all looked after you well. Hopefully see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
5.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.1 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
3.5 mi away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#11 of 30 in Dundee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Property: Forbes of Kingennie
Address: Kingennie, Dundee dd53rd, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing