We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort
Nearby Hotels
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$63
Doubletree
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$63
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dundee(Dundee)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
237
49
20
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
237
49
20
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat housefly fishingglen lyonhole golf coursehigh teawedding venuekids menuself cateringpeace and quietliving roomthoroughly enjoyed our staylovely mealfantastic locationgreat weekendmain buildingfantastic staybar and restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 328 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights it was heaven would liked to have stayed longer but had other travel commitments as we were touring Scotland.The lodge was clean and comfortable. We loved the view of the gardens out one window and the fishing pools out the other a spectacular view first thing in the morning.plenty to do Golf / fishing/walking they even have a maze if you are game enough to have a go. Close enough to go sightseeing and get back in time for dinner the staff are very helpful in showing you the quickest and easiest road to take,also the resort is well sign posted so you will not get lost. The restaurant and bar are lovely very cosy the food is delicious the staff are very attentive but one stands out and that is Carlo always smiling and very interesting to talk to very informative. All your staff are a credit to you be proud of them we have travelled many places and they are some of the best.Thank you Mike & Gail Forbes for making our trip memorable

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear your comments which I have shared with the team here at the resort. I am very pleased you managed to make use of the many activities on site and enjoyed the sightseeing during your stay. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and do hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in Glen Finlet it was wonderful. We had a lovely view of the ponds. The service was great. I could never think of a better place. We tried fishing but never caught anything. It is really close to Dundee which has some great shops. St Andrews is very close too. You have to visit St Andrews there is some thing for everyone. This is our 3rd stay in less than a year. It's fabulous.

Room Tip: The lodges overlooking the ponds away from the main Building are the best (4-6 on the map). They have large balconies which accommodate tables and chairs. The others near the main building have very small balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again soon and you never know you might be luckier with the fishing next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in Glen Clova Lodge, which was all very accessible, in the accessible bedroom downstairs however the mattress needs replaced as there is a spring popping out and the bed needs to be lower as it is not easy to get in and out of wheelchair onto bed. Apart from that downstairs was immaculate, upstairs in the bathroom the shower did not work properly and the heating was far to warm for this time of year. Food and drink was all lovely but some of it was a bit overpriced and the menu could have more variety. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Forbes of Kingennie.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for bringing these points to my attention. I will ensure that the mattress is replaced as soon as possible and have resolved the shower and heating issues. I have passed your comments regarding the menu on to our chef and food and beverage manager for their consideration.
I do hope that we will see you again here at Kingennie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently visited Forbes of Kingennie for a weeks stay. We visit Scotland every year for a week in May and although we love the country we have often found the level of service and the variety of food a little underdeveloped in places . This was not the case at Forbes of Kingennie the staff were very friendly and welcoming and were genuinely interested in making our stay enjoyable, the choice of food standard of service and value for money were outstanding. The fishing lakes are well stocked and very accessible and the guys in the fishing/golf shop were very helpful. The golf course was in excellent condition and was a fun and interesting little course which included junior tees and was great value (We got a weekly ticket). The restaurant and bar areas were clean modern and well presented. The lodge was in a nice private situation and was very comfortable. We also used the excellent coastal cycle route to go to St Andrews and Abroath and visited Glamis Castle and the Discovery museum in Dundee. I would

Room Tip: I would prefer one of the lodges in the woods as they are a little more private.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased to hear your comments which I have shared with the team here at Kingennie. I am very proud of the staff here at the resort and delighted that they made the stay enjoyable for you. Great to hear you managed to make use of the facilities here and visit the many attractions surrounding Kingennie. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Super lunch again Will return to sample more The setting is fantastic and nothing ever seems any trouble Was busy so would advise booking at weekends or peak times Good quality food and very good service

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colmarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. I am delighted to hear your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews