We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we asked for...and morei” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forbes of Kingennie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forbes of Kingennie
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
stoney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything we asked for...and morei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

After comparing many possible venues to host our Ruby Anniversary Weekend, we decided on Forbes of Kingennie. From the first meetings with staff (a year in advance) we were confident that this was the ideal place for us. Luxurious lodges for our guests, sporting facilities to keep everyone occupied during the days and a very pleasant function room in which to hold our two evening parties.
Today, following our celebrations, we are pleasantly satisfied that having spending the last week at F.O.K., we made the right choice. Our friends and family all had a fantastic time. They enjoyed some "Silly" putting competitions; target golf at the driving range; 9 holes of golf on the excellent (fairly challenging) golf course; plenty of catches for the anglers and both adults and kids had fun in the Maze and tracking The Treasure Hunt around the grounds.
The food we were served at breakfast and in the evenings was excellent and some of us who remained there for the whole week ate frequently in their restaurant and enjoyed everything laid down in front of us.
The staff, throughout our whole stay, were amazing. Nothing was ever too much trouble and any concern quickly rectified. The Function Operations staff were efficient and friendly, the Administration and Managerial staff were experienced and attentive, the Kitchen, Restaurant and Bar staff were skilled, charming and obliging, the Sports Coordinators were professional and expert and the Lodge administrators and Housekeepers, accommodating and thorough in their duties. They made a spendid "team" and added to our whole week being "great fun"!
We have stayed in three of the lodges at Kingennie and they were all extremely comfortable, fitted with quality furnishings and very well equipped.
If there were to be any minor improvements in the lodges, we would suggest the addition of: hair-driers, a small shelf in the shower cubicles for toiletries and a hook on the back of all bathroom doors.
We thank all "the Team" for their concerted effort in making our "Weekend" memorable for all the right reasons and wish them all the best in the future. We plan to meet them again next year....and hopefully the next!

Room Tip: Most 6-person lodges have a double room en suite, a large twin room and a smaller twin room (single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteldocStoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Hi Alistair and Evelyn, thank you so much for your fabulous review. I am delighted you had a great weekend and am very pleased to hear your comments on the team here at the resort. I am very lucky to have such a great team and we all look forward to seeing you both again next year, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    44
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
122
67
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Had a great stay in clean, comfortable lodges. Lovely food at the restaurant, very friendly and helpful staff throughout the resort. Fishing and golfing great fun and many memorable times at the bar. Great location for travelling around the scottish countryside! Would recommend.
from your "peeps" in Aussieland

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We chose Forbes of Kingennie for our wedding and the three main reasons were we could have our dog join us for the ceremony, the setting is beautiful and having eaten there on a few occasions we were impressed with food and service.

We booked our wedding with 18 months to go and can only offer good comments about our experience of booking and Louise who handeled our booking made the process simple and made sure she covered everything with us a few weeks before to ensure we had everything in place to make our big day go smoothly.

I can honestly the say that the day itself was brilliant the staff were all attentive and Ali our MC could not have done more (he even helped Stuart do up his kilt laces properly, and he kindly leant his jacket to a guest who wanted to pop out to take photos at a particularly windy part ofthe day - seriously though all the little efforts did not go unoticed and it is worth mentioning that this contributed to the overall 5 star rating)

The food was excellent with all the dishes (we had a menu choice) being served correctly, it was all very tasty and the portions were a good size ( I could not manage to finish my strawberry shortcake tower)

The setting was stunning and we have some excellent photos (despite the weather being blustery) and the whole atmosphere was amazing

The staff at night again could not do more and made sure everyone had a lovely time.

We stayed in Glen Esk Lodge and it was very comfortable and was in a nice setting , in the woodland area (Liz gave us a lift there when the evening celebrations had finished) We ate in the restaurant the Sunday night and again the food was fabulous and the service brilliant (Liz even took a photo of us showing our wedding rings)

We will definitely be back.

All in all A wonderful experience of a fabulous day. Thanks to all at Forbes of Kingennie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your wedding here at the resort. I am delighted to hear you had such a great day and hope that we will see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Reasonably priced self catering accommodation. Smart and well fitted. Friendly helpful staff. Very good for families. Enjoyed.

Would have been 5/5 if they didn't try to have silly charges on the hire of a cot for the baby and charged us extra to walk around the hedge maze!!! Really - was it worth arguing over a few quid????

Would recommend. Nice restaurant too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pieandchips2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the resort, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be reasonably priced with friendly helpful staff. I am delighted that you enjoyed a visit to our restaurant during your stay and hope that we will see you again in the future.
I am concerned that we missed out on 5/5 and am certainly considering the points that you have mentioned in relation to extra charges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just returned from a training event at Kingennie and it was brilliant. Wonderful lodges, great food, lovely surroundings. Our training course was made perfect by the excellent attention and most smiley manner of Carlo for whom nothing was to much trouble. I don't fish or golf but you don't need to to have a great time here - I guess if you do its the double icing on the cake. I only live a few miles away but I would certainly consider staying here just for a weekends downtime.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catinthehat1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear your comments which I have shared with the team here at Kingennie. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great lodges, restaurant, bar and facilities; staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Johnny the fishery manager who is always welcoming and willing to offer advice on what flies are effective.
My fishing party is returning for our 29th stay at this fantastic estate so i think this say it all.

D. Simpson
Dumbarton. Scotland
.

Room Tip: All lodges are of a high standard therefore selection is not important
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thanks for your review Mr Simpson, delighted to hear your comments and look forward to welcoming you for your 29th stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Had lunch at Kingennie today. Asked for a fresh apple juice each to be told 5 minutes later that they had run out. 2nd choice - fresh orange juice. Can't even describe what it tasted like but it was off - the 'manager' even agreed and then proceeded to tell us she had looked at the other stock in the kitchen and it was a funny colour!
Food came - soup/sandwich combo (did not pay for) as bread was sticky and doughy - accompanying leaves were just that - not a salad. Burger meal was made with cheap, doughy roll - slice of processed cheese and frozen chips (inclusive of black/bad potato bits.) Have had a better McDonalds!
Advised waiter of all of this at the end - to be advised when the kitched is busy the chef can't check for 'bad chips' etc and really the waiter should have checked. Charged for burger meal and also charged for orange juice which was off - had to drive back to get refund for the £2.70 juice!
Have been to Kingennie many times and enjoyed. Have attended many weddings there too. Will never go back and will make sure people I know are aware of it's very low standards.
Disappointed customer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank epatullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your disappointing visit to Forbes of Kingennie. I am very sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet our normal high standards of service and have spoken to the team to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Unfortunately on the day it was not the manager that you spoke to, and I was only made aware of your disappointment after you had left.
We take all feedback very seriously and have now looked at a new bread supplier and will monitor the quality of all of our products much more closely.
I am disappointed to hear that you will not be returning as I note that you have been to Kingennie many times and enjoyed it. I do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
5.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
5.1 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Property: Forbes of Kingennie
Address: Kingennie, Dundee dd53rd, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing