We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great lodges, restaurant, bar and facilities; staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Johnny the fishery manager who is always welcoming and willing to offer advice on what flies are effective.
My fishing party is returning for our 29th stay at this fantastic estate so i think this say it all.

D. Simpson
Dumbarton. Scotland
.

Room Tip: All lodges are of a high standard therefore selection is not important
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thanks for your review Mr Simpson, delighted to hear your comments and look forward to welcoming you for your 29th stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 320 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

Had lunch at Kingennie today. Asked for a fresh apple juice each to be told 5 minutes later that they had run out. 2nd choice - fresh orange juice. Can't even describe what it tasted like but it was off - the 'manager' even agreed and then proceeded to tell us she had looked at the other stock in the kitchen and it was a funny colour!
Food came - soup/sandwich combo (did not pay for) as bread was sticky and doughy - accompanying leaves were just that - not a salad. Burger meal was made with cheap, doughy roll - slice of processed cheese and frozen chips (inclusive of black/bad potato bits.) Have had a better McDonalds!
Advised waiter of all of this at the end - to be advised when the kitched is busy the chef can't check for 'bad chips' etc and really the waiter should have checked. Charged for burger meal and also charged for orange juice which was off - had to drive back to get refund for the £2.70 juice!
Have been to Kingennie many times and enjoyed. Have attended many weddings there too. Will never go back and will make sure people I know are aware of it's very low standards.
Disappointed customer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank epatullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your disappointing visit to Forbes of Kingennie. I am very sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet our normal high standards of service and have spoken to the team to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Unfortunately on the day it was not the manager that you spoke to, and I was only made aware of your disappointment after you had left.
We take all feedback very seriously and have now looked at a new bread supplier and will monitor the quality of all of our products much more closely.
I am disappointed to hear that you will not be returning as I note that you have been to Kingennie many times and enjoyed it. I do hope that we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great resort, great location.

Stayed in a cabin with a balcony looking toward the restaurant, over the middle pond. Beautiful, serene atmosphere. Two floors with good space, pleasantly fixtured and good quality appliances. Great furnishing.

Restaurant and bar we great - clean, staff were friendly, good food. Resort acitivities were accessible - everything on your door step and again, staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. Golf course is only 9 holes, and they're short at that, but it's extremely fun, for what it is. I'm a long hitter, but the shortness didn't detract from the fun - rather, that had me take on some more fun "go-for-it" shots.

Proximity to Dundee, but still out in the wilds, means best of both worlds - bucolic, yet no more than 10 minutes from re-supply.

Missing "star" is for the bottle caps and other crud found on the balcony. Not a big deal, but it left a bad taste.

Overall, highly recommended. I plan to be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnxMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

First visit to Forbes of Kingennie for my wife's 40th Birthday with friends. Accomodation in the Bard's Neuk Lodge was fantastic. We all enjoyed the surrounings and had a great weekend. Booked table in restaurant on Saturday evening and had a excellent meal. Will definately be back. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, great value and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My son married at Forbes of Kingennie in October. The extensive family, from England, rented most of the accommodation on site, from the large lodges by the lake to the smaller ones in the woodland area. They were all comfortable with high quality furnishings.

The family made good use of the facilities on site, the grounds were extensive and well maintained.

The attention to detail, of the wedding ceremony itself, was extremely good.

Special thanks to Elizabeth, Colin and Maureen. These were the 'front of house' staff with whom I had most contact with and who were always helpful, both before the event and on the actual day. Thanks to all the staff behind the scenes who contributed to the occasion running smoothly, it was evident that Forbes of Kingennie operates very much as a team effort. Jan Liverpool

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We booked one of the larger lodges with distant views over the golf course.

The large open plan living room worked well for relaxing and dining with such a large party. The kids loved the space which gave the adults a chance to relax.

Lovely walks around the grounds. Tried a bit of fishing. One of the guys who supplied the rods came over to see how we were getting on and even gave me a fly fishing lesson and I caught a trout.

We had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

First visit stayed with my wife in the Boathouse,the accommodation was outstanding check out the 5 in 1 surround sound and the comfiest mattress ever.The staff make this place they were simply fantastic Lianne and Greg in particular and cannot do enough for you,we will be back!
M HOWIE CARNOUSTIE

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
5.8 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
8.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort

Address: Forbes of Kingennie Drive, Dundee DD5 3RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dundee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dundee
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range: $155 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the resort, the peaceful and unspoiled setting is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and waterside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings, and events are all catered for too, with two events suites on site that benefit from glorious views over the countryside. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Country Resort Dundee, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing