We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry i booked and would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sorry i booked and would not stay again”
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel and would not recommend. Firstly, had requested a quiet room but got a room at the front which looks out over noisy road. Secondly, the heat in the hotel corridors and room was unreal. I am very tolerant of heat and normally feel cold, but the room temperature was very uncomfortable. There was no heat on but just the fact the corridor temp was like an oven made the rooms extremely warm and as the windows only open a few inches even though I left my window open all day and night the room was still stiffling, even lying outside of bed with curtains and nets pulled back. So between the warm room and noisy road, a good nights sleep was not had either night. Breakfast is cheap and not exactly cheerful. Skimmed milk ran out, OJ not working, cardboardy bread, no croissants left, poor replenishment of food etc..Finally one of the reasons I booked this hotel was beacuse of the internet facilities, I was led to believe from the website that there was free wi-fi in the bedroom. However this was not the case. Wasn't informed of this at check in or asked if i required internet access. 24 hr internet access is £12.95, not wi-fi either. Was given cable and voucher, didn't work and staff were unhelpful in resolving problem. Ended up having to use free wi-fi facility in lobby, far from ideal if using for business purposes. Asked for another cable as I suspected this was the cause of the problem. Not clear either that 24 hr internet is not a consequective 24hr period but 24hrs use in total. Plus on second day, one of the inside walls of lift was smeared with blood stains, nice. To summarise, uncomfortably warm rooms, shoddy customer relations and poor breakfast. If staying in Dundee again I wouldn't dream of staying here ever again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rldtravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    269
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
111
200
44
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Excellent and will use again!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacco212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissPT
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We got the hotel at a reduced rate of £55 for a double room, so it was very reasonable.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, but quite basic. If you were visiting for business or a brief stay then I'm sure it would be adequate.

The only snag was the terrrible, terrible bed. It was very soft, and very small. if you have any sort of back problem, definitely not the hotel for you. The doors also seemed to be quite thin so noise could be an issue, no problem when we there however.

Staff were pleasant, although they seemed sparse.

Breakfast was included in the price; again, basic.

Check-in before you park car and then you get parking vouchers. If you park in Gelatly Street car park (go past from of hotel, take first left) on level 3, then you can get straight into the hotel- handy when you have bags. Only snag is that reception have to buzz you in if you haven't got your key yet (we were left standing for a minute or two while the receptionist was checking someone in).

I probably wouldn't use the hotel again, but if you wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay after a night out (as we did) then it is absolutely fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

stopped for one night on tour. Hotel and position excellent. Rooms clean, car park adjacent over bridge. Breakfast good, cleanliness excellent. Staff not overly helpful. Waited to check in for five minutes. Had to draw information from staff. Pleasant hotel, did not meet the hotels standards, staff require customer care training

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Hard to beat in Dundee. The hotel has everything you need and nothing you don't. Car parking is easy as you just go to the third floor of Gellavly St car park and there is a covered bridge that takes you to reception where you can buy a discounted parking ticket that covers you to 12.00 the next day. Free wifi in the public areas and breakfast included.

Penny and Edd were brilliant on reception.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euanpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS-DUNDEE-AYR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Hi euanpl

Just a quick note to say thank for your review of the hotel during your recent stay.
We are pleased that it met with your expectations and will hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. We will make sure that your comments regarding Penny and Ed are passed on.

Kind Regards

Frances Lord
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

great staff
very friendly helpful
rooms clean and comfortable
good value for money
close to SHOPS, Tourist attractions
all around
highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELOHIM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Decided to have a short break in Dundee with my boyfriend and the holiday inn was absolutely brilliant. We booked online for a fantastic rate for the saturday and went shopping during the day. I was bit alarmed to discover no car park outside, however a quick phone call and I was told I could pay and display at nearby council mulistorey. Because it was weekend we only had to pay for a few hours so no big deal, about £3 or something. There was a designated walkway from the car park to the reception - perfect!

From the outside the hotel looked very attractive and modern, and inside it was very arty and contempory. Lots of glass, funky furnishings and a comfortable bar area with a great view over the city. Our room was spotless and a decent size. We went out for a meal and for some drinks at night and when we came home the reception guy was more than happy to help my partner order a pizza to be delivered! (he probably had to read him out the menu too but never mind!)

We had a choice of soft or form pillows too, all in all very well equiped and furnished accomodation. Loved the layout and style of this hotel, really profile raising for holiday inn and sets them miles above travelodge by a long shot.

Would 100% stay here again, and would go out my way to if needbe. Its right in the centre too.

Thanks for an exemplar stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS-DUNDEE-AYR, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Hi Julz487

Thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor.
It seems that the hotel ticked all the boxes during your stay. We realise that the car parking is sometimes a little bit of an issue but customers booking directly with the hotel are directed to our own website where there is a whole section on the car parking facilities.
We are delighted that the hotel met all of your requirements during your stay and look forward to welcoming you or your friends back at any time. We also have our sister hotel in Ayr which is well worth a visit if you are ever in Ayrshire or using Prestwick airport as a departure point.
Kind Regards

Frances Lord
Sales and Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.5 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Address: 41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dundee 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Dundee is a stylish hotel offering an inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options. Within the hotel there is free wireless internet access throughout. All 95 bedrooms offer freeview television, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and power shower. Holiday Inn Express Dundee is perfectly located in the heart of Dundee City Centre just a 5 minute walk from both Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and HM Frigate Unicorn. For sports fans Holiday Inn Express Dundee is within easy reach of the Dundee International Sports Centre as well as Dundee United Football Club and Dundee Football Club. The hotel is perfectly situated for the Train Station and Bus Station and only a 5 minute taxi journey to Dundee Airport. For the keen golfers the Holiday Inn Express Dundee is well situated for Open Championship golf courses such as St Andrews and Carnoustie. The hotel has 2 great value meeting rooms which are modern, informal and ideal for presentations, interviews and training. Everything you need is included from audio visual and projection equipment to stationery. Buffet lunch and snacks can be arranged at an additional cost. Parking is available in the nearby Gellatly Street Council Car Park with an access bridge direct to reception from level 3 of the car park. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am with charges applicable outwith these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Hotel Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing