We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient hotel, close to City centre and shops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Dundee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel, close to City centre and shops”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I had a 2 night beak here to check out Dundee University. Arrived Monday about 4pm and parked outside in empty space side of road. Handy enough from A85 Riverside Drive from Perth. A bit tricky as roadworks at end of Tay Bridge but if you keep to left hotel is on left, go past hotel to first road on multi storey car park on left, park on 2nd floor as there is a walkway straight into reception. Council car park so only have to pay between 8am and 6pm. I think it was £6.90 for day, but you can go in and out all day with day ticket!

Hotel was very clean, ensuite spotless, and staff who helped me were lovely.

Breakfast good, only saucages could be more scottish with meat in them, as they were not good.


Tescos and M& S right behind hotel. Good bars nearby and Lloyds No1 bar behind good for Ale.


Recommend hotel to friends and family as we enjoyed hotel.

Room Tip: 4th Floor 429 was room at end so only one room adjoining. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    269
    147
    61
    33
See reviews for
111
200
44
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Booked in for 1 night.Staff welcoming and friendly,room very comfortable and clean.Expected just a Continental breakfast but had scrambled egg,sausages and beans as well.Unfortunately they were luke warm owing to the time they were sat there.Tip for parking,use the one that joins the hotel,got a parking ticket within a few minutes on the street even though it was a Sunday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveyboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

booked a night for my family for 19th october via laterooms
paid £79 -£20 less than the standard price.
parking behind the hotel in a secure multistory.went to reception on the first floor,where a very nice lady made us feel welcome.great start,i thought, walking through this modern,welcoming hotel,to our room.
downhill from there though...
room for a family- as booked- very cramped,double bed mattress sunken in the middle,stiffling hot room even with the heating off and windows open.chin up ,we thought its just for a night...
cant have it all.oh man...mid october,having to take the duvet covers out to use as sheets due to the heat! window open to breathe,only to be noisily reminded "city centre pubs outside" kids awake till 1ish as they hot and bothered and doors banging can be heard on all levels.
oh well -big buffet breakfast make up for it...? not a chance... ok -cereal,toast,scrambled eggs,beans -but trade description people please note -sausages were obviously sawdust (or possibly cat litter -not sure) damn awful!! cold ham on offer was so processed- budget buy - it resembled a dogs squeaky toy. " we dont do bacon " i was informed when i requested.
"ok then -bye" was the retort from man on desk when checking out -still miffed at bacon request maybe?? fired off a quick email when home,only to receive a standard "staff training will be applied " reply -as bland as the stay/bed/food we recieved.will never stray from premier inn again (good night sleep guaranteed -they,holiday inn use FOGARTY bedding items!) -feel i owe lenny hendry an apology - thought this stay would be a notch above premier,who i have never had an issue with after dozens of stays. "hope you enjoy your next stay at holiday inn dundee!" our email reply ended - i would rather stay in a tent, burn £75 on a camping gaz stove,keeping 4 quid back for decent sausages!

Room Tip: premier inn discovery quay (across the road) fabulous! -stayed there in april
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dundee hotels

Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A Holiday Inn Express is what it is- a bed for the night, nothing more or less. Average, practical accommodation and in no way anything at all special, simply an average to below average low-price product.

The room was fine in terms of cleanliness, although the bed itself was not exactly comfortable... neither were the pillows, although I made do. Breakfast in the morning was normal self-service, rather bland but it did the job. At the end of the day all of this was provided at a very low price-point, but upon arrival for example, with two very large bags (I was moving to Dundee) the man seemed stunned when I asked with some help. Also, upon ordering a taxi I was not told that taxis do not arrive at the front door but rather to the side of the hotel- two taxis came and went as I waited- nobody seemed to think that as a first time visitor I did not know that information.

Overall, the room gave me a bed and nothing more... but even at the £69 a night they charged, I felt short-changed... after all, how hard is it to take somebodies bags after a long, 11 hour intercontinental journey or to inform them that a taxi would not arrive at the front of the hotel even after seeing you wait there for 35 mins ?!

I was not impressed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malioil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked in had to attract receptionist attention through door. Lots of confusion over parking voucher. Hair dryer in room not working. Paint peeling of room ceiling room needed a good dust. Overall very impersonal

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Andosis,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for an evening after a long drive from Birmingham. Comfortable, with great views over the Tay.

Service was superb, pleasant staff who know what they're doing is always appreciated.

Car park is handy and free between 6pm and 8am weekdays. You can pay in advance if you need to stay after 8am, and it's good value too.

Room was quiet and finished to a high standard. Good value all round.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamienKeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

had an overnight stay here on a shopping trip to Dundee.. Its very basic and a tad impersonal, carparking at multi storey at rear, handy for the shops, breakfast was nothing to write home about and the double bed had a huge dent in the middle which we rolled into all night ... would probaly use it again if i was passing and for one night its ok but any longer and i would have hated it !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundee hotels
0.1 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Dundee City Center
0.5 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Dundee Strathmore Avenue
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dundee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Address: 41 Dock Street, Dundee DD1 3DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dundee 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Dundee is a stylish hotel offering an inclusive Express Start breakfast with hot options. Within the hotel there is free wireless internet access throughout. All 95 bedrooms offer freeview television, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and power shower. Holiday Inn Express Dundee is perfectly located in the heart of Dundee City Centre just a 5 minute walk from both Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and HM Frigate Unicorn. For sports fans Holiday Inn Express Dundee is within easy reach of the Dundee International Sports Centre as well as Dundee United Football Club and Dundee Football Club. The hotel is perfectly situated for the Train Station and Bus Station and only a 5 minute taxi journey to Dundee Airport. For the keen golfers the Holiday Inn Express Dundee is well situated for Open Championship golf courses such as St Andrews and Carnoustie. The hotel has 2 great value meeting rooms which are modern, informal and ideal for presentations, interviews and training. Everything you need is included from audio visual and projection equipment to stationery. Buffet lunch and snacks can be arranged at an additional cost. Parking is available in the nearby Gellatly Street Council Car Park with an access bridge direct to reception from level 3 of the car park. Parking is free between 6 pm and 8 am with charges applicable outwith these times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Hotel Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Dundee Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing