We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Nearby Hotels
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Dundee North Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Dundee Centre Hotel(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dundee(Dundee)(Great Value!)
$51
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveler rating
167
288
153
62
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
288
153
62
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkbeanshi expresscity centreroad bridgebreakfast was includedthe sofa bedthird floorbudget hoteltrain stationshort staykey cardcaird hallmodern hotelporridgecouple of nightsstayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 703 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Apart from our room not ready at 2pm as stated for priority members, our stay was up to the usual standard. I still think if two people sharing, there should be two chairs. The breakfast area was well stocked and the cooked food was warm. We asked for a front view and although very busy, the well fitted windows kept the noise out. Very central location with plenty eating places and bars almost next door.

Room Tip: If looking for peace and quiet, choose a room at rear of hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hielsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

An overnight stop, arriving late from a flight to Edinburgh. Not a problem to find, although current road works adjacent to the Tay bridge make it a little more challenging. The hotel was comfortable, a quite standard layout for Holiday Inn Express. Rooms have free WiFi.

The staff were friendly and accommodating - I was away early at 6:30am the following morning, and although breakfast doesn't officially start till 7am, there was actually not a bad choice at 6am! Colleagues tell me this is usual, that as they have been staying for quite a while, the staff bend the rules to accommodate them.

The multi-storey car park on Dock Street (3rd floor I think) leads straight to the hotel reception. This was free for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawthorn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived at this hotel after a long day of travelling and asked the front desk politely if we could check in. The lady at the front desk rudely answered with a raised voice "Our website clearly states that check in is at 2pm". Upon looking at our watches, we realised it was 1:20pm. While I understand that our room may not have been ready, it would have been nice if we were informed of this in a more friendly manner. The lady did not even check to see if our room was ready. When we did eventually get into our room, we immediately noticed stains on the bed, stains on the couch, stains on the floor, stains on the wall, as well as numerous hairs on the bed and pillows. Additionally, the air conditioner did not work which made the room unbearably hot and difficult to sleep in. We asked for a new room, our request was refused and instead the housekeeping manager was sent up to our room. She shared our disgust and agreed that the cleanliness of the room was unacceptable. She apologised and together with another cleaner, they changed the sheets, quilt, and pillows on the bed as well as wiped the stains off the wall. With regard to the numerous stains on the couch and floor, she stated that they could not be removed as the hotel "currently doesn't have the proper equipment".

This was just our first night and unfortunately we had six more nights to spend in this non-refundable hotel. In addition to the above concerns, the hotel's websites inaccurately states under our room description "surf the web with high speed internet". Our room on the 4th floor did not offer internet access or even the option to pay for it. We noticed that the 2nd floor picks up the free internet from the lobby. We brought all of these issues to the attention of the hotel manager and were moved to a room on the second floor. The remainder of the stay went a little better however the free breakfast was lacking. The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to downtown Dundee however due to these issues we will be avoiding this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor as you won't have access to the free Internet. The second floor picks up the Internet from the lobby.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrairieVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Daniel C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you liked our hotel location, we are right in the heart of Dundee, close to shops, restaurants and nightlife. It's nice to hear that after some initial issues with your room accommodation, our Housekeeping Manager was able to rectify the situation. I apologize for the unacceptable customer service at the front desk. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff. We are sorry that you found our breakfast lacking and that you were inconvenienced by our internet service. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here for a week last month. Very convenient location. No parking. plenty of spaces nearby but you have to pay. On the whole, not oo bad as it is free parking 6pm to 8am.
Breakfast was like eating in a youth hostel. Big wait to make toast, only scrambled egg., and if you were unlucky enough to be there at the same time as a bus trip of Chinese/Korean/Japanese, forget it, just eat out.
The noise from the road outside is non stop, but even worse is the noise from the seagulls nesting on the rooftops opposite the hotel. They should be culled.
Trying to get served at the bar is very trying. The reception staff work the bar, so if anyone is checking in/out or making enquiries, you have to wait, and this can take quite a while.
The rooms were very small.
Given the option, I would go elswhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room backing onto the car park. Not one which has lorry noise or seagull noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dundee, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Terry G

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise during your stay and the poor customer service provided by our front desk. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ok...the positives....city centre location, clean, nice view if you get the right room.
Now for the real review........avoid this place if you love driving and travelled in your own car, no parking unless you want to be ripped off by the multi storey next door. Avoid if you like well cooked food, there is no kitchen so all hot food is microwaved! Avoid if you are not a party animal, lots of pubs n clubs in vicinity so drunken idiots love it. Avoid if want your backbone to resemble some sort of shape after a dreadful nights sleep, the mattress is like a jelly. I slept on the two seated settee just so I could function the next day. Don't bother complaining about anything because the staff have heard it all before and to be honest they are embarrassed working there. One more thing...scrap the satnav as the roads resemble nothing that your maps have and the main entrance is situated on the roundabout for the Tay bridge. Good one planning dept!

Room Tip: Sea view is ok but can be noisy
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews