We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absent baby change facilities with no interest from staff in improvements”

Tartan Coffee House
Ranked #5 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Dundee
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Table service
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absent baby change facilities with no interest from staff in improvements”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Good place to take small children with comfy seats in back area and nice books to read. However, every time I have visited in the last year or so the baby change/ disabled toilets have been out of order and upon inquiry every time a different reason has been given as to why they are closed. Is this just bad luck on my part?! This is not nice as you end up having to hange baby on the toilet floors which are cold and not always the nicest place to be. The toilets also do not always seem to flush. When I inquired about both the issues today the waitress responded that the disabled toilet floor was being painted and with a disinterested shrug about non-flushing toilets. I just felt a distinct lack of interest or customer care from this particular member of staff (although the other waitress was much more friendly). Nice place but shame about change facilities!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FutureMrsCridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Uninterested staff weren't particularly polite and chatted about their personal lives in good earshot of customers. Substandard orange hot chocolate tasted really cheap and not the £2+ I paid for it. No wifi either, something that is a deal breaker for most students, considering it's on Perth Road too that's pretty shocking!

Helpful?
1 Thank suiteheart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Visit tartan coffee house regularly to meet up with various friends.
Service is first class and all girls very pleasant. Great selection of
Food at any time of the day - very pleasant eating area and
always very busy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Unpretentious eatery where you can recharge your batteries savour the delights of the menu. Service is always with a smile

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coinneach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Dire and disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited here for lunch on the back of positive reviews from others but wish we hadn't bothered. We both plumped for the paninis which others have recommended. Quite simply they were both dreadful, popped on a plate with no side salad, crisps or even a garnish. They were sparsely filled and we had to get something else to eat from elsewhere to actually satisfy our hunger. The food was overpriced, the drinks even more so, a can of juice a princely £1.65. There is a nice wee snug bit in the back but that was closed off with an piece of paper stating that people were still allowed to use the bathroom! The bit we were sat in was tired with lots of cracked floor tiles which needed a good mop, the roof was water stained and we were forced to listened to the two servers love life trials and tribulations as they talked loudly. Upon paying we weren't asked how things were and weren't thanked for coming which is pretty much a common courtesy. There are far better places to go for lunch so if you are thinking of going - don't!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dundee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartan Coffee House also viewed

Dundee, Scotland
Dundee, Scotland
 

Been to Tartan Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing