We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Playwright

The Playwright
Ranked #16 of 371 Restaurants in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have eaten in this restaurant regularly from the moment it opened and have eaten here many many times covering birthdays graduations and regular Saturday night dinner. I can honestly say that that the food in this restaurant has never disappointed. To maintain the standard they have managed to do for so long is admirable. I have never had a meal here that has been anything other than outstanding.and to sustain that consistent level over a period of years is incredible. The service is first class the atmosphere is relaxed without being over the top and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. There are always enough options on the menu to satisfy all tastes. my recommendation though is fillet of scotch beef, heaven. Give this a try you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hamishaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    104
    36
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“out for a quiet drink with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

the playwright is very nice for a meal or drink whether its with your partner or freinds,it has a great selection of drinks and cocktails for the ladies with a good selection of whisky. only thing can be a little pricey but it is worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigjimbo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a combination of great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Booked this restaurant for a large group celebration and was so pleasantly surprised by the attention to detail from the staff. Compliments to the chef as everyone's food was first class and the table service was exemplary. Take a bow, everyone, we went away very happy with the evening and would recommend this establishment very highly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINROSS
Level Contributor
260 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“For quality and taste this is a great venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Returned to this restaurant for lunch yesterday after a break of about 4 months after discovering Collinson restaurant in a Broughty Ferry. The menu selection although limited was absolutely fantastic, decisions were difficult to make but decided on the Spanish Black pudding with scrambled eggs as a starter, followed by the Chicken with agrodolce, sweet and sour Italian sauce with Pak choi and spring onions. The quality and taste of both courses were outstanding, my thanks to the chef. The portions as you would expect are smaller at lunch so I also managed a piece of home made Chocolate Brownie accompanied by delicious vanilla ice cream.
A couple of things need to be reviewed in the front of house, firstly the service was spare-odic, resulting in me having to leave the table and go looking for staff a couple of times and settling the bill (3 times) took longer than necessary due to the credit card machine not being able to connect because someone was using the telephone. An extra telephone line would soon sort this out, but no, this annoying experience continues on nearly every visit!
A final note would be that this fantastic food and lunch at only £12.95 for two courses is unbelievable value and we will return soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

A group of friends and I went for dinner for a treat! We had the pre-theatre menu which was well thought out and very fulfilling. Staff were attentive and helpful but not overbearing. Our table was ours for the evening, there was no rushing us out of the door to turn round the table for other customers. A truly enjoyable night!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Playwright also viewed

 

Been to The Playwright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing