We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, warm and friendly bar”

Annandale Arms Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Smart intimate restaurant in the centre of Moffat open to non-residents. Serving the best in local seasonal Scottish produce. Recent awards: Food Review Scotland 4 star, Hotel Review Scotland , Real Food Award Dumfriesshire and elected Game-to-eat Restaurant of the month.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good service, warm and friendly bar”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We ate in the bar on a cold, Friday night. It was warm, quiet and friendly. Service was very good. We both had haddock and chips. One fish was perfectly cooked and the other, a thinner cut, was rather dry. Never mind, we had a good evening. The food and beer were welcome after a days walking in the snow and icy wind.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haliaeetusalbicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    39
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food ~ pity about the service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I eat regularly at the Annandale when travelling up and down to Devon. The food is good, but I get the feeling that the staff are over-stretched.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best aspect of the Annandale Arms hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The restaurant is certainly the best feature of the Annandale Arms Hotel. Both the evening meal and breakfast were well presented. Didn't have to wait too long for either...but neither did we fell at all hurried. Bit of a mix up in that the menu and waiter offered potatoes or chips with the meal ...but these never arrived. Not a problem though as both our evening meal starters and mains were very amply proportioned. Some interesting combinations as well as traditional fare. A couple of pleasant real ales were offered. Both the firied breakfat and kippers were of a similar good standard.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good steak”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Called in for a quick evening meal, very friendly staff and had a very pleasant couple of steaks which were reasonably priced. Pleasant house red to accompany the meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackieRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An Excellent Dinner & Breakfast”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The food was unbelievably good. It was perfectly cooked and very tasty. It was clear that the food was freshly cooked to order, it was very well presented and the portion size was just right (and I do like my meals to be of a sufficient size). Breakfast was also very good.
There was plenty of choice with the meals which used mainly local produce. I will certainly eat there again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank StephenMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annandale Arms Restaurant also viewed

Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Annandale Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing